1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Yoko Ono Tribute - Ocean Child: Songs of Yoko Ono [CD jewelcase]

Atlantic Records

  • £14.67

Format: CD
ICPN: 0075678638176
Release Date: 18 Feb 2022
Genre: Indie/Alternative

1. Toyboat – Sharon Van Etten
2. Who Has Seen the Wind? – David Byrne with Yo La Tengo
3. Dogtown – Sudan Archives
4. Waiting For The Sunrise – Death Cab For Cutie
5. Yellow Girl (Stand By For Life) - Thao
6. Born In A Prison – U.S. Girls
7. Growing Pain – Jay Som
8. Listen, The Snow Is Falling – Stephin Merritt
9. No, No, No - Deerhoof
10. Don’t Be Scared – We Are KING
11. Mrs. Lennon – The Flaming Lips
12. Nobody Sees Me Like You Do – Japanese Breakfast
13. There’s No Goodbye Between Us – Yo La Tengo
14. Run Run Run – Amber Coffman

Curated by Death Cab For Cutie’s Ben Gibbard, Ocean Child: Songs of Yoko Ono is various artist project covering songs of Yoko Ono compiled here by a generation-spanning group of musicians for whom her work has meant so much. It will feature contributions from David Byrne, Deerhoof, Death Cab For Cutie, The Flaming Lips, Japanese Breakfast, Jay Som, Stephin Merritt, Sharon Van Etten, Yo La Tengo & more and will be out on vinyl & CD on the February 18th 2022 with a portion of proceeds to go to WhyHunger.

On an album born out of both love and frustration, Ben evokes “the seemingly bottomless well of inspiration and enjoyment” that Yoko Ono’s music has provided, both for him and everyone else present on this compilation. “As an advocate, the tallest hurdle to clear has always been the public’s ignorance as to the breadth of Yoko’s work” he continues, as “she has consistently created melodies as memorable as those of the best pop writers”. It is his sincere hope that a new crop of Yoko Ono fans fall in love with her songwriting due in small part to this album that they have put together.

More From This Artist: Amber Coffman David Byrne Death Cab For Cutie Deerhoof Japanese Breakfast Jay Som Sharon Van Etten Stephin Merritt Sudan Archives Thao The Flaming Lips U.S. Girls We Are KING Yo La Tengo

Shipping calculated at checkout.