1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind



  • £21.47

Format: LP

Catalogue No.: GREL21

Barcode: 0601811002117

Release Date: 20 May 2013

Back in stock: 19 Aug 2022

Genre: Reggae

A touchstone LP from the beginning of reggae’s post-Bob Marley era, Greensleeves released Fire House Rock on June 3, 1981, to enduring acclaim. The title track has become Wailing Souls’ most popular song, found on any short list of all-time reggae classics. More than 40 years later, it is the group’s most-streamed song, populating classic reggae playlists across the digital streaming platforms, including Spotify’s One Love and Apple Music’s Roots Reggae Essentials.

Fire House Rock was Wailing Souls’ third LP at the time of release, but the group had built a solid catalogue of singles and a reputation through more than a decade together, largely from a foundation established at Coxson Dodd’s Studio One. By 1980, with a settled and seasoned four-part harmony line-up of Winston “Pipe” Matthews, Lloyd “Bread” McDonald, Garth Dennis, and George “Buddy” Haye, the group was convinced to record for the hottest up and coming producer of the era, Henry “Junjo” Lawes. Pairing the singers with the Roots Radics band at the apex of its recording career and Channel One studios during its golden era, with Scientist at the mixing desk, the results were nothing less than the stuff of legend.

1. Fire House Rock
2. Run Dem Down
3. Oh What a Feeling
4. Kingdom Rise, Kingdom Fall
5. Act of Affection
6. Busnah
7. A Fool Will Fall
8. Bandits Taking Over
9. Who Lives It
10. See Baba Joe

More From This Artist: WAILING SOULS

Shipping calculated at checkout.