1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Waajeed - From The Dirt LP

Dirt Tech Reck

  • £47.68

Format: 2 x 12" Vinyl
Catalogue No.: DTR016
Release Date: 03 Nov 2022
Genre: Deep House

A1. From the Dirt
A2. After You Left
B1. Things About You ft. Asante & Zo!
B2. Make It Happen ft. Cjay Hill
C1. I Ain't Safe ft. Ideeyah
D1. Power In Numbers
E1. I Just Wanna Tell
E2. Too Afraid ft. Lulu
F1. My Father's Rhythm ft. DeSean Jones
F2. Strength ft. Ideeyah (Radio Edit)

Following on from a string of acclaimed EPs on Planet E and his own label, DIRT TECH RECK boss Waajeed presents his first solo studio album, From The Dirt, due November 9th. This LP will feature 3 pieces of vinyl, manufactured and pressed in his hometown Detroit.

In order to understand Waajeed’s artistic profile, it helps to look at the musical history which informs it. As a child of Detroit who grew up just as encapsulated by hip-hop and soul as he was techno and house, he is driven by a commitment to finding the sweet spot between these paradigms. In a city full of dualities, his productions are underpinned by an inherent awareness of both sides of the coin.

From co-founding seminal hip-hop act Slum Village alongside the late J Dilla and running two of his own labels - Bling47 and DIRT TECH RECK - to producing leftfield soul as the frontman of Platinum Pied Pipers, and releasing collaborative records with Theo Parrish and Mad Mike Banks, his career as an artist has been varied to say the least. This manifests itself gloriously on From The Dirt, in which funk, soul, house, and techno play equal parts across ten dancefloor constructions. Gritty basslines are offset with glistening melodies and heartfelt lyrics, whilst shuffling percussion drives steadily forward. Vocals play an important role throughout, ‘I Ain’t Safe ft. Ideeyah’, ‘Things About You ft. Asante & Zo!’, ‘Too Afraid ft. Lulu’ and the meditative power of first single ‘Strength ft. Ideeyah’. Drum patterns vary between angular, funky and hypnotic soulful house - all with carefully mapped out cycles brandishing an inimitable rhythmic flair with big basslines like his current single, "Power In Numbers".

‘Growing up in the D, I spent Monday thru Thursday in the studio with Slum Village. Friday and Saturday nights we partied all night to Techno and early Sunday morning I went to church with my pastor. This is what I sound like. This is the sound of Detroit. This is From the Dirt.’

More From This Artist: Waajeed

Shipping calculated at checkout.