New website, returning customers please re-register

Forgot your password?

Create Account

1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Various - These Memories...Rare Soul Gems

Outta Sight

  • £19.78

Format: 12" Vinyl
Catalogue No.: OSVLP026
Barcode: 5013993901594
Release Date: 15 Apr 22 (back in)
Genre: Soul

Memories of the rare soul scene are manifold but this timeless collection goes right to the heart and soul of the scene and is perhaps best summed up by the emotive title track “These Memories” by Almeta Lattimore. You really don’t need any other reason to buy this album, but how about Corey Blake’s £1,000+ collector’s-piece “How Can I Go On Without You”, which has evaded compilation for over twenty years. Equally rare is Billy Harner’s “I Got It From Heaven”, recorded and produced in 1976 by ‘Sound Gems’ label boss Frank Fioravanti. It was discovered, soon after release, by Richard Searling and covered-up as Bobby Hutton for exclusive plays on his Saturday/Sunday DJ sets at Wigan Casino. ‘Sound Gems’ also provides us with another dance floor anthem: “You’re My Main Squeeze” by Crystal Motion. Side One ends with another Richard Searling cover-up courtesy of Motown’s country & western-tinged “Can’t Stop A Man In Love” by Reuben Howell (aka Sandy Linzer). Appropritely, Richard selected this very track to end his last ever All-Nighter DJ set at the Kings Hall, Stoke-on-Trent, Sunday 22nd September 2019. What a record! Side Two is no slouch either, kicking off with our title track, followed by the first ever independent release of Daybreak’s in-demand “I Need Love”. Eddie Owen (aka Eddie Billups) delivers his 1977 reinvention of the anthemic “Shake Off That Dream” while Tom Moulton works his magic on Love Committee’s “Tired Of Being Your Fool”. We end with our second visit to Motown for the wonderful – unreleased – “My Baby Moves Me” by Brenda Holloway.


Corey Blake - "How Can I Go On Without You" (3:37)
Freddie Terrell & The Blue Rhythm Band - "You Had It Made" (1:52)
Barrett Strong - "Man Up In The Sky" (4:05)
Billy Harner - "I Got It From Heaven" (3:00)
Sydney Joe Qualls - "I Don't Do This (To Every Girl I Meet)" (3:07)
Crystal Motion - "You're My Main Squeeze" (part 1) (3:03)
Reuben Howell - "Can't Stop A Man In Love" (2:40)
Almeta Lattimore - "These Memories" (3:28)
Daybreak - "I Need Love" (3:39)
Eddie Owen - "Shake Off That Dream" (3:39)
Love Committee - "Tired Of Being Your Fool" (2:52)
Sonya Spence - "Let Love Flow On" (3:44)
Brenda Holloway - "My Baby Moves Me" (2:32)

More From This Artist: almeta lattimore Barrett Strong billy harner brenda holloway corey blake crystal motion daybreak eddie owen freddie terrell love committee sonya spence sydney joe qualls

Shipping calculated at checkout.