New website, returning customers please re-register

Forgot your password?

Create Account

1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind



  • £25.99 ( )

Format: 2 x LP, Pink Vinyl
Catalogue No.: ART001LPP
Barcode: 5056032348394
Release Date: 03 Sep 2021
Genre: Hip Hop / R&B

Vanguard captures the iconic Bristol Sound.

The early days of the iconic Bristol Sound are captured in a new album including an exclusive re-release of the very first track from Massive Attack and tracks from Smith & Mighty, Purple Penguin and more.

Compiled by DJ Boca 45 (Scott Hendy), Vanguard brings together the seminal tracks that defined the rebellious era which saw the birth of the Bristol Sound for the first time. Featured tracks include an exclusive re-release of Any Love - the first ever track by Massive Attack released on Massive Attack Records in 1988, Smith & Mighty's breakout hit Walk On, Purple Penguin's downtempo classic Memphis and other trip hop classics.

The LP celebrates the globally recognised Bristol Sound whose experimental breakbeat rhythms and influence still dominate the scene today. Along with classic tracks from the '90's into the '00's and beyond, the album uncovers lesser known cuts by some of Bristol's pioneering musicians such as One Cut and West Country hip hop's finest Aspects.

The explosion of the Bristol Sound coincided with the boom in UK street art which led to fruitful collaborations between artists and musicians. Finding inspiration in each other's work, street artists frequently designed rave posters, logos and cover art while DJs provided the beats to accompany street artists' clandestine painting.

Vanguard The Album pays homage to these relationships with a beautifully put together gatefold LP featuring iconic cover art designed by some of the biggest names in street art such as Inkie, Dicy, Will Barras and Nick Walker. These early works capture the boisterous energy of the era and confirm Bristol's status as an extraordinary cultural melting pot.

The curated tracks are also linked in that all were originally released with bespoke original covers from legendary Bristol street artists, including Banksy and Will Barras, tying its release to Vanguard's current exhibition Bristol Street Art: The Evolution of a Global Movement at M Shed, Bristol, running until October.

1. Smith & Mighty Ft Jackie Jackson - Walk On...
2. Boca 45 - Wild Style Skit
3. Massive Attack Ft Daddy Gee & Carlton - Any Love
4. 3PM - Better Late Than Never
5. RPM - 2000
6. One Cut - Horn Tune
7. Boca 45 - Walls On Fire Skit
8. Sir Beanz OBE Ft Fog Scratch Leg Aka Junior Disprol - Mars Attacks
9. Purple Penguin - Memphis
10. Numskullz - I’m Alive
11. One Cut - Zombie Bomb Fire
12. Aspects - Chinese Burns
13. Atari Safari - Play This One For Them
14. Hundred Strong Ft Taskforce - Sword Lies Broken
15. Boca 45 Ft Stephanie McKay - Parking Space

Shipping calculated at checkout.