New website, returning customers please re-register

Forgot your password?

Create Account

1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

VARIOUS ARTISTS - TRU THOUGHTS COVERS 3 (Ice cream coloured Vinyl)


  • £15.28 ( )

Cat. no: TRULP397
Format: LP (Ice cream coloured Vinyl)
Barcode: 5060609663056
Release Date: 6th November 2020
Genre: Electronic

Out 6th November, the third instalment of the Tru Thoughts Covers compilation series brings together unique and captivating cover versions by
artists on the roster, that have been released and loved as album tracks, singles or one-offs.

Featuring covers of originals from a host of iconic artists including afrobeat pioneer Fela Kuti; peripheral soul figure William DeVaughn; pre-eminent jazz fusion band Weather Report; American music innovator Duke Ellington; anthemic jungle duo Shy FX & Apache; golden Age hip-hop duet Pete Rock & CL Smooth; idiosyncratic and elliptical singer-songwriter Frank Ocean, plus many more - ‘Tru Thoughts Covers 3’ makes for an exceptional listen, recontextualising well-loved classics with a fresh edge.

As well as contributions from familiar Tru Thoughts faces there is an exclusive unreleased tune that has been sought out and signed specifically for this compilation, Adam Prescott and Deemas J’s collaborative flip of Peter Rock & CL Smooth’s - “They Reminisce Over You (T.R.O.Y)”. Curated and compiled by Tru Thoughts A&R, founder and renowned DJ - Robert Luis, ‘Tru Thoughts Covers 3’ showcases another spectrum to the label:

“I find it fascinating how different artists re-work songs that are known in one genre and flip it to another place or update a song for a new audience within a genre. We always get interesting feedback and support for the covers, and it is always enjoyable putting them out into the world. We are now into the third volume of this series of compilations, and I feel these albums highlight a different creative side of Tru Thoughts artists who most of the time are writing original material.”

First Tru Thoughts Covers album since 2015. Limited 500, hand-numbered, ice cream coloured vinyl. -Includes 18 trackdownload card.

1. sUb_modU - Water No Get Enemy 2. Sly5thAve - California Love feat. Cory Henry 3. Hot 8 Brass Band - Love Will Tear Us Apart 4. Animanz - Them Changes (Magic Drum Orchestra Remix) 5. J-Felix - Be Thankful For What You Got feat. Sol Goodman 6. Jesse Fischer & Sly5thAve - Chameleon 7. Soul Central - Teen Town 8. Mark de Clive-Lowe & the Rotterdam Jazz Orchestra - Caravan 9. Magic Drum Orchestra - Original Nuttah feat. Bunty (DJ Madd Remix) 10. Adam Prescott & Deemas J - They Reminisce Over You (T.R.O.Y.) (Version) 11. Quantic y Los M ticos del Ritmo - Hotline Bling 12. Quantic Presenta Flowering Inferno - All I Do Is Think About You feat. Christopher Ellis 13. The Seshen - This Bitter Earth 14. Pieces of a Man - Lady Day & John Coltrane feat. Amp Fiddler 15. Lightning Head - E.V.A. 16. Carolina Lins & Os Planatos - I Predict A Riot 17. Animanz - Gypsy Woman 18. Sly5thAve - Super Rich Kids 

Tracks: SUb_modU - Water No Get Enemy / J-Felix - Be Thankful For What You Got Feat. Sol Goodman / Soul Central - Teen Town / Mark De Clive-Lowe & The Rotterdam Jazz Orchestra - Caravan / Magic Drum Orchestra - Original Nuttah Feat. Bunty (DJ Madd Remix) / Adam Prescott & Deemas J - They Reminisce Over You (T.R.O.Y.) (Version) / Sly5thAve - Super Rich Kids

Shipping calculated at checkout.