New website, returning customers please re-register

Forgot your password?

Create Account

1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind



  • £13.75

Format: CD
Catalogue No.: WWSCD55
Barcode: 3700604736851
Release Date: 10 Dec 2021
Genre: Pop / Funk / Modern Soul

A stylish selection of city pop, funk and modern soul from Japanese label Nippon Columbia, selected by DJ Notoya and featuring cult classics and rarities by Hiroshi Sato, Hatsumi Shibata, Hitomi 'Penny' Tohyama & many more.

Annotated by Notoya with journalist Nick Luscombe and artwork by Optigram.

Newly remastered audio.

The selection on ‘Tokyo Glow’ starts with 'Kimugare' a relaxed mid-tempo track by Kumi Nakamura, actually a famous actress who only recorded one album in 1980 for Columbia.

The set continues and flows effortlessly with the sunshine grooves of Miyuki Maki, Hatsumi Shibata and cult keyboard player Hiroshi Sato before the pace starts going faster and funkier with New Generation Company, Kengo Kurozumi - with his superb boogie, 'Juggler' - and one of the queens of the genre, Hitomi 'Penny' Tohyama with 'Tuxedo Connection'.

Another fine example on the set is the mid-tempo groove of "I Wander All Alone Part III" by New Generation Company, an aggregate group of some of the best Japanese session musicians led by arranger Katz Hoshi and including Hiroyuki Namba (key), Kazuo Shiina (gtr) and Yutaka Uehara (ds) who all played with Tatsuro Yamashita among many others.

There are many other excellent examples in 'Tokyo Glow', showcasing the diversity and specificity of Japanese City Pop during the late 70s and 80s.

Nippon Columbia opened their much-guarded vaults to curator DJ Natoya. Tracks were remastered in Tokyo and the result, ‘Tokyo Glow’, is a unique insight into a most creative period in Japanese music.

LP 1:
1. Kumi Nakamura - Kimagure
2. Miyuki Maki - Indo No Michibata
3. Haruyoshi Yamashina - Osake To Joke
4. Sumiko Yamagata - Natsu No Hikari Ni
5. Hatsumi Shibata - Party Is Over
6. Makoto Iwabuchi - Moonlight Flight
7. Hiroshi Sato - Saigo No Tejina
8. Arakawa Band - Paradise’s Dream
9. New Generation Company - I Wander All Alone (Part III)

LP 2:
1. Kiyohiko Ozaki - Ojosan Oteyawarakani
2. Kengo Kurozumi - Juggler
3. Ken Nishizaki - Koi No Paradigm
4. Jadoes - Simply Another Love
5. Midori Hara - Aamar Jabar
6. Hitomi 'Penny' Tohyama - Tuxedo Connection
7. Mizuki Koyama - Oh! Daddy
8. Haruo Chikada & Vibra-Tones - Sofa Bed Blues
9. Mitsuko Horie - Chigasaki Memory

More From This Artist: Arakawa Band Haruo Chikada Haruyoshi Yamashina Hatsumi Shibata Hiroshi Sato Hitomi Tohyama Jadoes Ken Nishizaki Kengo Kurozumi Kiyohiko Ozaki Kumi Nakamura Makoto Iwabuchi Midori Hara Mitsuko Horie Miyuki Maki Mizuki Koyama New Generation Company Penny Sumiko Yamagata Vibra-Tones

Shipping calculated at checkout.