New website, returning customers please re-register

Forgot your password?

Create Account

1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Various Artists - The Electric Muse Revisited - The Story Of Folk Into Rock And Beyond (4 Disc Boxset)


  • £28.78 ( )

Cat. no: GDM060
Format: CD4
Barcode: 5060155725420
Release Date: 18th June 2021

Genre: Folk

61-track, 4-CD set explores the experimental side of the British folk scene, from the folk-rock era to the present.

Includes new and unreleased recordings from Imagined Village (the first new music from the band in 9 years, with vocals from Eliza Carthy), Justin Adams, and Stick In The Wheel, unreleased songs from Maddy Prior and Lavinia Blackwall, and rare demos from Sandy Denny and Richard and Linda Thompson. 

The remarkable cast also includes everyone from Shirley Collins and Fairport Convention to Billy Bragg, June Tabor and Oysterband, Eliza Carthy, Jim Moray, Olivia Chaney, Spiro, Lau, Jon Boden, Martyn Bennet, Capercaillie, Stick In The Wheel, Sam Lee, Catrin Finch & Seckou Keita, Yorkston Thorne Khan and many more.

Compiled by writer and broadcaster Robin Denselow, who also wrote the 24-page sleeve notes, the boxset is released to coincide with publication of the book of the same title (on Omnibus) - which is an updated version of the celebrated story of the folk-rock era The Electric Muse, first published in 1975.

This boxset brings together an extraordinary cast of great musicians for the first time, and tells the story of how British traditional music has been re-worked with influences not just from rock but from punk, rap, electronica, big band brass, and sounds and styles from around the world.

“You can’t hurt this stuff by messing with it” - Martin Carthy.

Robin Denselow on Today programme (Radio 4) together with Shirley Collins, transmission date TBC.
Robin Denselow on Gideon Coe show Radio 6 on June 17th.
Feature in Songlines Magazine out on June 18th.
Robin Denselow appearances at folk and world festivals to talk about the release.
SONGLINES - mention of album and book (next issue)
SONGLINES - feature + box set review (following issue)
THE TIMES - box set review FINANCIAL TIMES - box set review
BBC 6MUSIC GIDEON COE - interview with Robin on Late Night Book Club incl music (to run on 17th June)
BBC RADIO 4 TODAY PROGRAMME - interview with Robin + Shirley Collins confirmed (to run around box set release date)
MORNING STAR - box set review
SHINDIG - box set + book reviewed together (July issue)
BBC RADIO 2 FOLK SHOW - airplay confirmed + interview with Robin pitched
Sent from my iPhone

CD 1: Sweet Greens And Blues 1964 (Home Recording) - Shirley Collins And Davy Graham / Sweet Greens And Blues 1964 (Home Recording) - Shirley Collins And Davy Graham / Gilderoy - Shirley And Dolly Collins / Crowlink - Shirley Collins / St Patrick Spens 1989 (Live) - Fairport Convention / The Festival Bell - Fairport Convention / The World Is A Wonderful Place (Demo) - Richard And Linda Thompson / Who Knows Where The Time Goes’?’ (Solo Home Demo) - Sandy Denny / The Quiet Joys Of Brotherhood - Imagined Village (Vocals Eliza Carthy) / A Sailor’s Life - Lavinia Blackwall / John The Gun - Maddy Prior / Dark Morris Song - Steeleye Span / Harvest - Steeleye Span / What Do You Do In The Day’?’ - John Kirkpatrick / I Got New Shoes - Albion Dance Band / My Dearest / To Ireland I Made My Way - Ashley Hutchings / She Moved Through The Fair - Justin Adams

CD 2: The Ship In Distress - Andrew Cronshaw / The Maid And The Palmer - Brass Monkey / Alright Jack - Home Service / I Am The Common Man - Battlefield Band / Between The Wars - Billy Bragg / Hal-An-Tow - Oysterband / Susie Clelland - June Tabor And The Oyster Band / The Recruiting Sergeant - The Levellers / Plough The Speed - Edward II / Inexile - Capercaillie / Greenwood Laddie/Mrs Caprons Reel/Tune - Eliza Carthy / Worcester City - Eliza Carthy / Ale House - Martyn Bennett / Early One Morning - Jim Moray / Lucy Wan - Jim Moray / England, Half English - Billy Bragg And The Blokes

CD 3: Cold Haily Rainy Night - Imagined Village / My Son John - Imagined Village / Four Loom Weaver - Ian King / Bonnie Bunch Of Roses - June Tabor & Oysterband / I’ll Show You Wonders - June Tabor And Oysterband / Saint Monday - Lau / Les Bras De Mer - Catrin Finch & Seckou Keita / Send Her To Holloway - The Rails / Far In Distant Lands - False Lights / A Gay Goshawk - Carole Pegg & Radik Tulush / Believing Is Seeing - Rab Noakes / False Bride - Olivia Chaney / Willie O’winsbury - Offa Rex / House On A Hill - Olivia Chaney 

CD 4: Searching For Lambs - Peter Knight’s Gigspanner Big Band / You Know Me - Eliza Carthy & The Wayward Band / The Copper Suite - Spiro / Sweet Thames Flow Softly - Jon Boden & The Remnant Kings / Sacred Earth - Sharon Shannon / Hichki - Shooglenifty & Dhun Dhora / The Shearing’s Not For You - Yorkston Thorne Khan / The Water Is Wide - Lizabett Russo / Bristol Slaver - Show Of Hands / Rigs Of The Time - Lunatraktors / Villon Song - Stick In The Wheel / Top Knot - Stick In The Wheel / 100,000 Years/ brisk Lad - Stick In The Wheel / Spencer The Rover - Sam Lee / The Tan Yard Side - Sam Lee, Lisa Knapp And The Nightingale

Shipping calculated at checkout.