1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Various Artists - Steven Wilson Presents: Intrigue - Progressive Sounds In UK Alternative Music 1979–89 [4CD]

Demon Records Curated Compilation

  • £41.38

Format: 4 x CD
Catalogue No.: EDSL0133
Barcode: 740155733339
Release Date: 10 Feb 2023
Genre: Alternative

4CD mediabook with 80 page booklet

“This is my personally-curated attempt to redress the balance, and to perhaps introduce any ‘80s-sceptics out there to the idea that conceptual thinking and ambition didn’t suddenly evaporate after ’77... ambitious, weird and thrilling music was all around you in the ‘80s —if you looked in the right places.”
– Steven Wilson

• Demon Records is proud to release Intrigue
- Steve Wilson Presents: Progressive Sounds In UK Alternative Music 1979-89, a new compilation assembled by acclaimed
musician, singer-songwriter, and record producer, Steven Wilson.
• Featuring 58 tracks, the collection explores the creativity, experimentation and progressive spirit of alternative British
music from 1979-1989. Artists include Wire, XTC, The Stranglers, Ultravox, The Durutti Column, Cocteau Twins, Kate Bush, Tears
For Fears, and many more.
• 4 CDs housed in a mediabook with an 80-page booklet featuring an introduction by Steven Wilson, and extensive track-by-track liner notes by James Nice.
• Mastered by Phil Kinrade at AIR Mastering. 
• A 58-track 7LP vinyl edition is also available, along with a 2LP vinyl edition which features 20 highlights.

CD 1
1. I Should Have Known Better – Wire
2. A Better Home In The Phantom Zone – Bill Nelson’s Red Noise
3. Back To Nature – Magazine
4. Complicated Game (Steven Wilson 2014 Mix) - XTC
5. Careering – Public Image Limited
6. The Raven – The Stranglers
7. Puppet Life – Punishment Of Luxury
8. Astradyne (Steven Wilson Stereo Mix) – Ultravox
9. Contract – Gang Of Four
10. I Travel (Extended Version) – Simple Minds
11. Sketch For Summer – The Durutti Column
12. Health And Efficiency - This Heat
13. Burning Car – John Foxx
14. Cognitive Dissonance (Steven Wilson 2022 Mix) – Robert Fripp And The League of Gentlemen
15. Fatal Day – In Camera
CD 2
1. I Can't Escape Myself - The Sound
2. The Eternal - Joy Division
3. Big Empty Field - Swell Maps
4. Enemies - Art Nouveau
5. The Joy Circuit - Gary Numan
6. The Gospel Comes To New Guinea - 23 Skidoo
7. All My Colours - Echo And The Bunnymen
8. Ghost Town (Extended Version) - The Specials
9. They All Run After The Carving Knife - New Musik
10. The Him - New Order
11. White Car In Germany (Single Edit) - The Associates
12. Hit - Section 25
13. Sealand - Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark
14. Talking Drum - Japan
15. Faith - The Cure
CD 3
1. Three Dancers (Steven Wilson 2021 Mix) - Twelfth Night
2. Airwaves - Thomas Dolby
3. Are You Ready? - Crispy Ambulance
4. The Outsider - Rupert Hine
5. Knife Slits Water - A Certain Ratio
6. Memories Fade - Tears For Fears
7. Patient - Peter Hammill
8. Donimo - Cocteau Twins
9. In A Waiting Room - Mr And Mrs Smith And Mr Drake
10. Close (To The Edit) - The Art Of Noise
11. Dalis Car - Dalis Car
12. Rawhide - Scott Walker
13. Brilliant Trees - David Sylvian
14. Dream Within A Dream – Propaganda
CD 4
1. Waking The Witch - Kate Bush
2. Ivy And Neet - This Mortal Coil
3. Beehead (7” Version) - Perennial Divide
4. This Corrosion – The Sisters Of Mercy
5. Ascension - O Yuki Conjugate
6. No Motion - Dif Juz
7. Gutter Busting – SLAB!
8. Murderers, The Hope Of Women - Momus
9. The Host Of Seraphim - Dead Can Dance
10. R.E.S. - Cardiacs
11. Good Morning Beautiful - The The
12. Omega Amigo - The Shamen
13. Night Sky, Sweet Earth - No-Man
14. The 3rd Time We Opened The Capsule - Kitchens Of Distinction

More From This Artist: 23 Skidoo A Certain Ratio Art Nouveau Bill Nelson’s Red Noise Cardiacs Cocteau Twins Crispy Ambulance Dalis Car David Sylvian Dead Can Dance Dif Juz Echo And The Bunnymen erennial Divide Gang Of Four Gary Numan In Camera Japan John Foxx Joy Division Kate Bush Kitchens Of Distinction Magazine Momus Mr And Mrs Smith And Mr Drake New Musik New Order No-Man O Yuki Conjugate Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark Peter Hammill Propaganda Public Image Limited Punishment Of Luxury Robert Fripp And The League of Gentlemen Rupert Hine Scott Walker Section 25 Simple Minds SLAB! Swell Maps Tears For Fears The Art Of Noise The Associates The Cure The Durutti Column The Shamen The Sisters Of Mercy The Sound The Specials The Stranglers The The This Heat This Mortal Coil Thomas Dolby Twelfth Night Ultravox Wire XTC

Shipping calculated at checkout.