1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Various Artists - Steven Wilson Presents: Intrigue - Progressive Sounds In UK Alternative Music 1979–89 (140g Black Vinyl) [7LP]

Demon Records Curated Compilation

  • £161.98
  • £192.58

Format: 7 x LP
Catalogue No.: DEMRECBOX78
Barcode: 5014797908376
Release Date: 10 Feb 2023
Genre: Alternative

• Demon Records is proud to release Intrigue - Steve Wilson Presents: Progressive Sounds In UK Alternative Music 1979-89, a new compilation assembled by acclaimed musician, singer-songwriter, and record producer, Steven Wilson.

• “This is my personally-curated attempt to redress the balance, and to perhaps introduce any ‘80s-sceptics out there to the idea that conceptual thinking and ambition didn’t suddenly evaporate after ’77... ambitious, weird and thrilling music was all around
you in the ‘80s —if you looked in the right places.”
– Steven Wilson
• Featuring 58 tracks, the collection explores the creativity, experimentation and progressive spirit of alternative British music from 1979-1989. 
• Artists include Wire, XTC, The Stranglers, Ultravox, The Durutti Column, Cocteau Twins, Kate Bush, Tears For Fears, and many more.
• Pressed at Pallas on seven 140g-vinyl, housed in printed inner sleeves and a rigid outer slipcase, with a 40-page booklet featuring an introduction by Steven Wilson and extensive track-by-track liner notes by James Nice.
• Mastered by Phil Kinrade and cut by Cicely Balston and Barry Grint at AIR Mastering.
• A 58-track 4CD edition is also available, along with a 2LP vinyl edition which features 20 highlights.

LP 1 – Side A
1. I Should Have Known Better – Wire
2. A Better Home In The Phantom Zone
– Bill Nelson’s Red Noise
3. Back To Nature – Magazine
4. Complicated Game (Steven Wilson 2014 Stereo Mix) - XTC
Side B
1. Careering – Public Image Limited
2. The Raven – The Stranglers
3. Puppet Life – Punishment Of Luxury
4. Astradyne (Steven Wilson Stereo Mix) – Ultravox
5. Contract – Gang Of Four
LP 2 - Side A
1. I Travel (Extended Version) – Simple Minds
2. Sketch For Summer – The Durutti Column
3. Cognitive Dissonance (Steven Wilson 2022 Mix)
– Robert Fripp And The League Of Gentlemen
4. The Fatal Day – In Camera
Side B
1. Health And Efficiency - This Heat
2. Burning Car – John Foxx
3. I Can't Escape Myself - The Sound
4. The Eternal - Joy Division
LP 3 – Side A
1. Big Empty Field - Swell Maps
2. Enemies - Art Nouveau
3. The Joy Circuit - Gary Numan
4. The Gospel Comes To New Guinea - 23 Skidoo
Side B
1. All My Colours - Echo And The Bunnymen
2. Ghost Town (Extended Version) - The Specials
3. They All Run After The Carving Knife - New Musik
4. The Him - New Order
LP 4 – Side A
1. White Car In Germany (Single Edit) - The Associates
2. Sealand - Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark
3. Talking Drum – Japan
4. Faith - The Cure
Side B
1. Hit - Section 25
2. Three Dancers (Steven Wilson 2021 Mix) - Twelfth Night
3. Airwaves - Thomas Dolby
4. Are You Ready? - Crispy Ambulance
5. The Outsider - Rupert Hine
LP 5 – Side A
1. Knife Slits Water - A Certain Ratio
2. Memories Fade - Tears For Fears
3. Patient - Peter Hammill
4. In A Waiting Room
- Mr And Mrs Smith And Mr Drake
Side B
1. Donimo - Cocteau Twins
2. Close (To The Edit) - The Art Of Noise
3. Rawhide - Scott Walker
4. Brilliant Trees - David Sylvian
LP 6 – Side A
1. Dalis Car - Dalis Car
2. Dream Within A Dream – Propaganda
3. Waking The Witch - Kate Bush
4. Ivy And Neet - This Mortal Coil
Side B
1. Beehead (7” Version) - Perennial Divide
2. This Corrosion – The Sisters Of Mercy
3. Ascension - O Yuki Conjugate
4. Gutter Busting – SLAB!
LP 7 – Side A
1. No Motion - Dif Juz
2. Murderers, The Hope Of Women - Momus
3. The Host Of Seraphim - Dead Can Dance
4. R.E.S. - Cardiacs
Side B
1. Good Morning Beautiful - The The
2. Omega Amigo - The Shamen
3. Night Sky, Sweet Earth - No-Man
4. The 3rd Time We Opened The Capsule
- Kitchens Of Distinction

More From This Artist: 23 Skidoo A Certain Ratio Art Nouveau Bill Nelson’s Red Noise Cardiacs Cocteau Twins Crispy Ambulance Dalis Car David Sylvian Dead Can Dance Dif Juz Echo And The Bunnymen Gang Of Four Gary Numan In Camera Japan John Foxx Joy Division Kate Bush Kitchens Of Distinction Magazine Momus Mr And Mrs Smith And Mr Drake New Musik New Order No-Man O Yuki Conjugate Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark Perennial Divide Peter Hammill Propaganda Public Image Limited Punishment Of Luxury Robert Fripp And The League Of Gentlemen Rupert Hine Scott Walker Section 25 Simple Minds SLAB! Swell Maps Tears For Fears The Art Of Noise The Associates The Cure The Durutti Column The Shamen The Sisters Of Mercy The Sound The Specials The Stranglers The The This Heat This Mortal Coil Thomas Dolby Twelfth Night Ultravox Wire XTC

Shipping calculated at checkout.