New website, returning customers please re-register

Forgot your password?

Create Account

1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Various Artists - PRSNT

Modern Obscure Music

  • £54.11 ( )
Genre: Electronic/Experimental
Format: LP
Catalogue No.: MOMPRSNT
EAN: 4251804125062
Release Date: 25th June 2021 (back in)

Very Ltd White Vinyl Gatefold edition + 32 Page Booklet + Download Code. Non-Returnable.

The LP contains original (32 seconds long) compositions by Ryuichi Sakamoto, Pascal Comelade, Laurie Spiegel, Lyra Pramuk, Chassol, Nicolas Godin and Pierre Rousseau, Pedro Vian and Pierre Bastien, Visible Cloaks, Kelman Duran, Raul Refree, Lucrecia Dalt, Lafawndah.

+ a book with writings by contemporary thinkers like Shumon Basar, François J. Bonnet, and pictures by, Araki, Juergen Teller, Elizaveta Porodina, Dani Pujalte, P Jack Davison, Zhong Lin, Alessandra Sanguinetti, Adrià Cañameras, Javier Tles among others. Lacquer cut by Josh Bonati & Mastered by Rashad Becker.

Pitchfork:news: https://pitchfork.com/news/ryuichi-sakamoto-visible-cloaks-and-lyra-pramuk-contribute-to-new-6-minute-album/
Resident Advisor: news: https://ra.co/news/74570
TheVinylFactory:news: https://thevinylfactory.com/news/ryuichi-sakamoto-laurie-spiegel-lafawndah-feature-on-new-6-minute-album/
BrooklynVegan:news: https://www.brooklynvegan.com/ryuichi-sakamoto-visible-cloaks-more-contribute-32-second-songs-to-very-short-album/
‘PRSNT’ is a unique global artistic project combining the input of artists across the worlds of music, video and written word which acts as a statement on how we, as consumers, engage with music in the 21st century. Vital electronic musicians including Ryuichi Sakamoto, Lafawndah, Lyra Pramuk, Lucrecia Dalt and Visible Cloaks have each contributed tracks, which are approximately 32 seconds long.

The concept was devised by Created By Us and the Barcelona-based label Modern Obscure Music. They read a study which identified that the overwhelming volume of instantly accessible information online is shortening attention spans and altering how audiences engage with music digitally. Their curiosity about the state of online consumption developed further on discovering that around a third of all listeners using digital platforms skip to the next track, within the first 30 seconds of playing.

Each musician was given a fascinating challenge to create engaging compositions with real artistic merit, inside the confines of this shortened span. Akin to Brian Eno’s famous Windows 95 start-up music, the time constraints are crucial, and the compositions are deceptively complex and more substantial than expectations of their nano nature would suggest.

‘PRSNT’ acts as a critique of flighty feed culture, but is simultaneously constructive, providing something which is either proposed solution, or “if you can’t beat ‘em join ‘em” resignation. Every artist has interpreted the brief differently, resulting in an intriguing blueprint for the potential future of digital music. Could abbreviated micro compositions satisfy, inspire and nourish like their longer counterparts? They certainly take up much less of listeners’ busy lives, which are often spent tackling ever-increasing workloads.

* Tracklist:
1. Laurie Spiegel – ‘Fly By’
2. Pedro Vian & Pierre Bastien – ‘Memory’
3. Lyra Pramuk – ‘Cage’
4. Chassol – ‘ya!’
5. Nicolas Godin & Pierre Rousseau – ‘Page Turner’
6. Pascal Comelade – ‘Segons com’
7. Visible Cloaks – ‘Lifeworld’
8. Raül Refree – ‘Vid2020’
9. Lucrecia Dalt – ‘cosa’
10. Kelman Duran – ‘Dead Cat’
11. Lafawndah – ‘The Super Lady From Nameless-Town´
12. Ryuichi Sakamoto – ‘silence’
Shipping calculated at checkout.