New website, returning customers please re-register

Forgot your password?

Create Account

1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Various Artists - Pop Ambient 2023 [LP]


  • £27.52

Format: LP
Catalogue No.: KOMPAKT455
Barcode: 4250101442414 
Release Date: 09 Dec 2022
Genre: Ambient

A contemporary product of relentless capitalism has been a trend called slowness for several years now. In order to counteract the perceived fast pace of the times in which we live with a little deceleration, sustainability and relaxation, phenomena such as Slow Food, Slow Travel, Slow Fashion or even Slow Cruising, the tourist sailing of the world's oceans with somewhat smaller cruise ships "away from the mainstream", have been introduced into the world.

That slowness is more than the opposite of speed, that elements, things, sounds that move as if in slow motion unfold a special power, precision, aesthetics and beauty, doesn’t need to be explained twice to ambient musicians. The 23rd edition of the Pop Ambient compilation, compiled as always by Wolfgang Voigt, is no exception, but instead provides the proof. Already with the first tracks of Leandro Fresco/Thore Pfeiffer, Gen Pop (Burger, Pfeiffer, Würden), Morgen Wurde feat. Tetsuroh Konishi and Max Würden up to Triola's gloomy and melancholic "Kupferblüte", the feeling of a slowness and calmness not experienced before, of an exceedingly lively standstill, creeps over us. A mental state that resembles dreams, in which we follow strange events as if paralyzed, yet awake and sensory.

The Cologne-based Sono Kollektiv, an association of experimental artists Annie Bloch, Stefanie Grawe, Joel Jaffe, Alex Linster, Luis Weiß, Moritz Riesenbeck, Lukas Schäfer, Emily Wittbrodt and Max Würden, is represented for the first time with two contributions on Pop Ambient. The two works, the fragile "Bolzano Sessions IV" and the rather light-flooded "Bolzano Sessions V" (only available on CD and in the digital version) nestle perfectly into the musical whole of this year's compilation, not only in terms of their majestic leisureliness.

In Jens-Uwe Beyer's "Nero", melancholic guitar chords reduced to the bare minimum are carried away by the wind like leaves, the reverberation holding the last note so long that it almost comes to a stop in the ear. If you like it synesthetic, look at the once again ravishing cover artwork by Veronika Unland right at this moment. Colors and shapes in which there is both everything and nothing to discover. Both feel equally right.
The final third of Pop Ambient 2023 begins with Reich & Würden's herbaceous "Receiver," a track so dignified and carried by pads reminiscent of the sound of bagpipes that it would have perfectly punctuated her majesty the Queen's 8-hour funeral ceremony - a wonderful example, by the way, of the spiritual confluence of deceleration and precision that eventually turns into trance.

The slowness is joined by togetherness at the end: Pop Ambient veteran Joachim Spieth cooperates with American sound artist zakè on his literally weightless "Air", Thore Pfeiffer co-produced the wonderful "Instinct" with Scottish brother duo Andy and Mike Truscott aka Kinbrae. California duo Patrick Hills and Morgan Fox aka Blank Gloss close out the vinyl version with the yearning "Down At The Heel," while that honor falls to debutant Ümit Han on the Pop Ambient CD. "Sieg über das Ungute" (victory over the unpleasant) in all its beauty brings us painfully back to reality.

1 Leandro Fresco / Thore Pfeiffer Sonne 00:03:41
2 Gen Pop Blue 00:05:45
3 Morgen Wurde Ende Sah feat. Tetsuroh Konishi 00:06:18
4 Max Würden Retrieve 00:06:32
5 Triola Kupferblüte 00:05:50
6 Sono Kollektiv Bolzano Sessions IV 00:05:57
7 Jens-Uwe Beyer Nero 00:05:20
8 Sono Kollektiv Bolzano Sessions V 00:04:48
9 Reich & Würden Receiver 00:06:08
10 Joachim Spieth / zakè Air 00:04:58
11 Thore Pfeiffer / Kinbrae Instinkt 00:03:21
12 Blank Gloss Down At The Heel 00:03:44
13 Ümit Han Sieg Über Das Ungute 00:08:08

More From This Artist: Blank Gloss Gen Pop Jens-Uwe Beyer Joachim Spieth Kinbrae Leandro Fresco Max Würden Morgen Wurde Reich & Würden Sono Kollektiv Tetsuroh Konishi Thore Pfeiffer Triola zakè Ümit Han

Shipping calculated at checkout.