New website, returning customers please re-register

Forgot your password?

Create Account

1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Various Artists - Out of Addis

Sheba Sound

  • £21.60 ( )

Format: Vinyl LP
Catalogue No.: SHBLP001
Barcode: 5050580750449
Release Date: 13th November 2020
Genre: African (Africa)

01: Hanna Mekonnen Ali New Biye
02: Berhe Raz Kule
03: Woliyu Dutam Eybelundey Eybelu (feat. Cory Seznec)
04: Yeaynne Abeba Nigus Bire Dama
05: Abduletif Jemal Mal Ameni
06: Adhanet Equar Gumaye
07: Nebiyu Hamdi Yisare Hinena (feat. Cory Seznec)
08: Berhanu Haileselassie Melka-a Weyno

Ethiopia is home to over 80 ethnic groups, each with its own deep-rooted language and culture. Contemporary musicians living outside Addis Abeba, the capital, have little opportunity to record their mesmerizing sounds.

Sheba Sound is redressing this by recording and releasing high-end audio music of local stars..

So far, Sheba Sound have recorded more than 25 groups in 'pop-up' studios across Ethiopia.

Tracks from this compilation have been aired by: Giles Peterson, NTS, Late Junction, Chirs Menist, Nick Manasseh, King Shiloh, Francemusique, Dj Mitmitta, Sheger FM, Ahadu FM.

The recordings are also captured in the award-winning documentary film 'Roaring Abyss' by Quino Piñero:


Check out an interactive map of recordings and interviews at:


Shipping calculated at checkout.