New website, returning customers please re-register

Forgot your password?

Create Account

1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Various Artists - Open Space Volume 1


  • £45.88
Genre: Ambient/Electronica
Format: 3LP
Catalogue No.: FIGURELP06 
EAN: 4251804123631
Release Date: 20th November 2020

3 x 180gr vinyl with full cover print, shrink wrapped.

In a year of global shift and continuous changes, Figure takes a leap of faith and extends its catalog by introducing a completely new compilation series to the label. The Open Space series will feature forward-thinking Electronica and Ambient from a well-curated list of seasoned producers. Compositions that invite to let the mind wander, weaving stories, and conjuring up emotions.

While these softer genres have already played a respected role in former Figure releases, for the first time in the label’s history they are now being given the center stage. Volume 1 sets the mark by providing producers whom we’ve come to love for their dancefloor-centric output with an open space to showcase another side of their skillset.

Open Space remains open to various strains of Electronica and Ambient, ranging from the introspective synth-monologues (Sebastian Muellaert / Kirilik), drony dub-experimentalism (Moritz Von Oswald), alive and breathing takes on the genre (JakoJako), to singular compositions which slowly build their own lasting narrative and thus develop a genuine, emotive quality (John Beltran / Tin Man ). Len Faki himself proves the artistic breadth of Open Space, sharing a powerful and conscious message through a rare and delicate moment of him exploring the form of spoken words. Other contributions include Jesper Dahlbäck as The Persuader, Luke Slater as 7th Plain, or Ralf Hildenbeutel - a former production partner of Sven Väth and now a successful composer of film soundtracks. Unfairly reduced to background music, it is not the kind of Ambient featured on the Open Space series. It is an engaging body of music, bonded by its contemplative, enveloping nature.

Open Space bands together an array of fascinatingly skilled producers, finally given the opportunity to present some of their most creative and emotional material yet to date.

* Tracklist:
A1 kirilik - The Beginning Of Everything A2 John Beltran - The Morning Moves The Sun B1 Sebastian Mullaert - In The Mist We Appeared B2 JakoJako - Deine Augen C1 The 7th Plain - For Cocteaux and Budd
C2 Len Faki - Find Your Way D1 The Persuader - Remembering Water Pearls D2 Ralf Hildenbeutel - April
E1 Moritz von Oswald – Silence E2 Kangding Ray – Treize F1 Tin Man - Lovely Acid F2 Antigone - Indiana Police

More From This Artist: Various Artists

Shipping calculated at checkout.