New website, returning customers please re-register

Forgot your password?

Create Account

1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind



  • £28.30

Format: 2 x LP
Catalogue No.: WWSLP37
Barcode: 3700604728023
Release Date: 28 Jan 2022
Genre: Funk

Wewantsounds continues its collaboration with Bob Shad's venerable jazz label Mainstream Records, and present a selection of 12 turntable friendly tracks recorded between 1971 and 1975 and showcasing the label's superb blend of Spiritual Jazz, Funk and Soul by the likes of Buddy Terry, Sarah Vaughan, LaMont Johnson and Johnny Coles.

Most of the tracks are released on vinyl for the first time since their original release in the early 70s. The 2-LP set comes with gatefold sleeve featuring never seen photos from the Mainstream vaults and new liner notes by UK journalist Paul Bowler.

Mainstream Records is one of the key independent jazz labels of the early 70s, together with Flying Dutchman, Strata East, CTI and Black Jazz. Founded by legendary label man Bob Shad (who had been head of A&R at Mercury Records and set EmArcy in the 50s), the label concentrated on Psychedelia in the 60s before switching back to Shad's jazz roots in the early 70s, signing a new crop of jazzmen fed on John Coltrane and Miles' electric experiments. Thus was born the cult Mainstream "300 series" with its distinctive artwork and outstanding music from which this selection is largely drawn.

Giving a chance to many young jazz players and a few old friends, Shad recorded some of the most exciting jazz of the early 70s, mixing spiritual influences with funk and soul. Mainstream Records has a lot more exciting music in the vaults and 'Mainstream Funk' is just the tip of the iceberg serving as a timely reminder that Bob Shad's taste as a producer and A&R man was one of the finest on the scene.

1. Sarah Vaughan - Inner City Blues
2. Buddy Terry - Quiet Afternoon
3. Blue Mitchell - Last Tango In Paris
4. LaMont Johnson - M'Bassa
5. Prophecy - Betcha Can't Guess My Sign
6. Dave Hubbard - Family Affair
7. Sugar Billy - Super Duper Love Pt. 1
8. John White - Right Off
9. Mike Longo - Matrix
10. Barry Miles - Little Heart of Pieces
11. Johnny Coles - Betty's Bossa
12. Pete Yellin - It's The Right Thing

More From This Artist: Barry Miles Blue Mitchell Buddy Terry Dave Hubbard John White Johnny Coles LaMont Johnson Mike Longo Pete Yellin Prophecy Sarah Vaughan Sugar Billy

Shipping calculated at checkout.