1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Various Artists - Eddie Piller Presents - British Mod Sounds of The 1960s Volume 2: The Freakbeat & Psych Years (140g Black Vinyl) [2LP]

Demon Records Curated Compilation

  • £30.58

Format: 2 x LP
Catalogue No.: DEMREC1043
Barcode: 5014797907683
Release Date: 17 Feb 2023
Genre: Pop Rock

Curated by Acid Jazz Records and Modcast founder Eddie Piller, “British Mod Sounds of The 1960s Volume 2: The Freakbeat & Psych Years” is the follow up to the hugely successful “British Mod Sounds of The 1960s”, featuring 31 original tracks across a 2LP set pressed on black vinyl, A deep dive into the post-Mod scene in '60s Britain. Featuring a selection of classic and rare tracks, tracing the scene from early '65 to the dawn of a new decade.

Even before Demon's well received 2022 box set 'British Mod Sounds of The 1960s' was released conversations were being had around a follow-up, though rather than just offering a straight if slightly diluted second volume, compiler Eddie Piller decided to put together a collection exploring "What the Mods did next". Once again, long conversations (and the occasional heated debate) were had to ensure the quality of music and attention to detail were second to none. Anything less just wouldn't be the Mod way.

The British Mod bands that had made the first half of the decade so exciting were still around but inevitably their influences had changed. No longer content with re-hashing American R&B, the scene split in multiple directions, not all of it forward looking - some hardened their up-tempo sound and gradually evolved into what we would come to know as Freakbeat. Others bought in psychedelic, esoteric or Eastern influences. A third strand explored a more pastoral or Folk based route. Simply put, songs and hair got longer.

Before the decade was out the choices for the discerning listener included Jazz-Rock, Proto-Prog, Whimsy, Heavy Rock, and Psychedelic Soul - even sounds derived from Cockney music-hall made an appearance.

'Volume 2: The Freakbeat & Psych Years' tracks the development of the original Mod mainstays (the Small Faces, The Who, The Action, The Kinks), with a generous selection of future superstars (David Bowie, Marc Bolan, Fleetwood Mac, Jimmy Page of Led Zeppelin and Steve Howe of Yes are all represented here), alongside a few artists so obscure, so rare, that they never got to release a record in the '60s, but Eddie has tracked down the tapes nonetheless.

LP1. Side A.
1. The Birds - No Good Without You Baby
2. The Poets - Call Again
3. Wimple Winch - Save My Soul
4. Yardbirds - Happenings Ten Years Time Ago
5. The Flies - I'm Not Your Stepping Stone
6. David Bowie - The Gospel According To Tony Day
7. Tomorrow - My White Bicycle
8. John's Children - Midsummer Night's Scene
9. The Gods - Come On Down To My Boat Baby
LP1. Side B.
1. The Action - In My Dream
2. Kaleidoscope - Flight From Ashiya
3. Dantalian's Chariot - Madman Running Through The Fields
4. The Who - I Can See For Miles
5. The Accent - Red Sky At Night
6. Tintern Abbey - Vacuum Cleaner
7. Fleetwood Mac - Rambling Pony
LP2. Side C.
1. Nirvana - Rainbow Chaser
2. Spencer Davis Group - Moonshine
3. The Fire - Father's Name Is Dad
4. Billy Nicholls - London Social Degree
5. Aquarian Age - 10,000 Words In A Cardboard Box
6. The Elastic Band - 8 1/2 Hours Of Paradise
7. Vamp - Floatin'
8. Timebox - Gone Is The Sad Man
LP2. Side D.
1. The Koobas - Barricades
2. Graham Bond - Love Is The Law
3. Small Faces - Me, You and Us Too
4. Brain Auger Feat. Julie Driscoll - (Flesh Failures) Let The Sunshine In
5. Terry Reid - Superlungs My Supergirl
6. Colosseum - Elegy
7. The Kinks - This Time Tomorrow

More From This Artist: Aquarian Age Billy Nicholls Brain Auger Colosseum Dantalian's Chariot David Bowie Fleetwood Mac Graham Bond John's Children Julie Driscoll Kaleidoscope Nirvana Small Faces Spencer Davis Group Terry Reid The Accent The Action The Birds The Elastic Band The Fire The Flies The Gods The Kinks The Koobas The Poets The Who Timebox Tintern Abbey Tomorrow Vamp Wimple Winch Yardbirds

Shipping calculated at checkout.