New website, returning customers please re-register

Forgot your password?

Create Account

1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

V / A - Berlin Gets Physical (2*12")

Get Physical

  • £29.31

Format: 2 x 12" Vinyl
Catalogue No.: GPMCD264V
Barcode: 844216056068
Release Date: 23 Sep 2022
Genre: Tech House, Deep House, Indie Dance, Electronic

01 Cook Strummer - For Berlin
02 Los Cabra & Manuel Sahagun - Italian Groove (Vinyl Edit)
03 Freudenthal feat. Nowhere People - Cipher (Vinyl Edit)
04 Marvin Jam & Le Mythe - Bad Karma (Vinyl Edit)
05 Daniel Jaeger & Valenti - Quarantine Cowboys (Vinyl Edit)
06 Air Horse One - Out Of The Blue (Vinyl Edit)
07 dramasquad - ziggy (Vinyl Edit)
08 Abayomi – Juba
09 KEENE - Ecoute (Vinyl Edit)
10 Dan Buri - Zion (Vinyl Edit)
11 Max Joni & MUKKIMIAU - Everafter (Vinyl Edit)
12 Red Pig Flower & Lulla - Radioactive (Vinyl Edit)
13 Mike Book - Ready To Go (Vinyl Edit)
14 FreedomB - State of Shock (Vinyl Edit)
15 Electronic Elephant - Ask Yourself (Vinyl Edit)

Three years after Reno Wurzbacher’s entry into the series, Cook Strummer now offers up his own Berlin Gets Physical, a collection of all-new and exclusive tracks.

Berlin-based, Belgium-born Strummer has been a Get Physical associate for several years. He has dropped various singles including the standout 'Rising' which also featured on the Words Don't Come Easy series, and always crafts the perfect mix of rhythm and melody with plenty of hints of his homeland's famous cold wave sound. He often uses his own voice, drum machines, synths and guitars in his music, and since his debut album in 2018 on LOK Recordings, he has had high profile support from the likes of Laurent Garnier, Adam Port and Ame. This summer, he dropped 'Atmosphere' on Obsolet Records which proved another successful outing and now Berlin Gets Physical finds him digging deep into the famous city's freshest and most essential house sounds across 15 well-sequenced tracks.

His own new offering 'For Berlin' kicks off with a dark and edgy vibe, gothic vocals and tense drums. Glitchy hits and blurting synths add to the prickly atmosphere and immediately lock you in while Los Cabra & Manuel Sahagun's 'Italian Groove' then takes off on waves of serrated dark disco synths and Freudenthal feat. Nowhere People continue that macho disco vibe with the rugged chug and cosmic rays of 'Cipher.'

The twinkling 'Bad Karma' by Marvin Jam & Le Mythe then allows you to catch your breath with a slower, more spacious dub disco sound and the twanging bass riffs and exotic effects of Daniel Jaeger & Valenti's 'Quarantine Cowboys' rebuilds the atmosphere with some innovative house blues. The mid-section brings brain-frying synth work on 'Out Of The Blue', bubbling dub house and disco courtesy of dramasquad's sprawling 'ziggy' and percussive deep house looseness from 'Abayomi.'

After KEENE's rubbery and rolling Afro sounds comes more cosmic house richness from Dan Buri and Max Joni & MUKKIMIAU, the driving tech of Red Pig Flower & Lulla and heady sounds of Mike Book. There is a raw house heaviness to FreedomB's 'State of Shock' and things shut down with Electronic Elephant's tightly coiled minimal drum funk on 'Ask Yourself'.

This on point collection is an authentic snapshot of the contemporary underground sound of the Berlin.

More From This Artist: Abayomi Air Horse One Cook Strummer Dan Buri Daniel Jaeger & Valenti dramasquad Electronic Elephant FreedomB Freudenthal KEENE Los Cabra & Manuel Sahagun Marvin Jam & Le Mythe Max Joni & MUKKIMIAU Mike Book Nowhere People Red Pig Flower & Lulla

Shipping calculated at checkout.