New website, returning customers please re-register

Forgot your password?

Create Account

1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Toby Glider - Novelty

City Baby Records (Japan)

  • £23.40 ( )

Format: Vinyl LP
Catalogue No.: CBR006V
Barcode: 195448029109
Release Date: 6th November 2020
Genre: Soul/R&B (Electro Funk)

01: Novelty
02: Mamachari
03: Pop City
04: Marble Vines
05: Shikoku Lady
06: Leonardo Lamborgini
07: Hot Dog
08: Izu Cruise
09: Linns Dream
10: Romance Car
11: Some Times
12: Orange Road

· 100 copies available.

· Funky return/LP debut of the 'Toby Glider' alias by LA-based Josh Lundquist (aka Liquid Pegasus)

· Heavy participation by highly in-demand Oakland funk instrumentalist E. Live on Rhodes.

· Previous releases on Star Creature and City Baby have sold out and become sought-after.

· Beautiful custom glossy jacket w/ separate obi designed by Chris Hopkins/Lost Art

*** Strictly no sales to Japan ***

A pocket symphony for the Modern Funk era, breezily moving between City Pop, Bob James-style Jazz Fusion, and romantic 80s Library music. Topflight disco producer Liquid Pegasus shows a deeper side under his Toby Glider moniker. A continuation in theme from his in-demand EP on Chicago's Star Creature label and long sold-out debut on City Baby Records, this LP is Toby Glider's breadth fully realized—novel funk, authentically emotive when it wants to be, but always working in killer grooves that range from warmup to overheat to cool down.

· "Mamachari" mellows along almost too-smooth, dappled with a Rhodes keys sparkle courtesy of Oakland, CA's first-rate funkster E. Live.

· "Pop City" bops to a boogie bass groove highlighted with swinging flutes and a chorus of congas resulting in instrumental disco perfection.

· The B side brings us the deep in your buns funk of "Hot Dog," whimsical rhythms and piano twinklings of "Romance Car" and rounds out to a beautiful dreamsicle melody with album closer "Orange Road"—overall a compact masterpiece of sometimes-sideways funk.

--- CREDITS ---

Written & Produced by Josh Lundquist
With major leads on A2, A4, A5, B2, B3; B4 by E. Live

Flute on A3 B1 by Rowan Flute
Guitar & Horns on A3 by Nate McManus
Vocals on B5 by Chris Nelson
Album Artwork by Chris Hopkins/Lost Art
Promo Illustrations by Jacob Anderson
Executive Producer — Ryan Erik Williams
©Copyright 2020 City Baby Records

Shipping calculated at checkout.