1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

The Source - ...but swinging doesn´t bend them down [CD]


  • £12.58

Format: CD
Catalogue No.: ODINCD9577
Barcode: 7033661095774
Release Date: 29 Apr 2022
Genre: Jazz

The Source - nearly 30 years in the tradition of the infinite peculiar. The Source is a quartet with a long history. Actually started in 1993, with the founding members Ingebrigt Håker Flaten (bass), Per Oddvar Johansen, Trygve Seim og Øyvind Brække, who all by then studied at the Jazz Course at the Trondheim Music Conservatory. The new quartet album; « ... but swinging doesn`t bend them down» will be published in October on the legendary record label Odin. The title is an excerpt from the poem «Birches» by the American poet Robert Frost, a title that encompass a child´s dream of climbing the treetops and swinging birch branches. It could be read as a reflection over the conflict between the free play in nature and the boundaries of adult life awaiting on the ground… But maybe the ground can wait? Just join the sheer joy of climbing the trees and the careful balance that is needed not to fall and be at one with the flexibility of nature. After several season-related albums, like “The Source: of Christmas” and “The Source: of Summer”, it is now a pure quartet display out in the tube, only based on original music. The pieces are all signed by the quartet members and covers a vast register; raga, shuffle, swing, lyrical spots, improv and even a rough trombone/drum outing, and more.The Source: Øyvind Brække, trombone Trygve Seim, saksofon Per Oddvar Johansen, trommer Mats Eilertsen, bass.

1. Rusletur (Ø.Brække) 00:33 2. Monday (M.Eilertsen) 07:50 3. One Step Further - Three Back (Ø.Brække) 02:05 4. Limbo (Ø.Brække) 06:10 5. Rubicon (M. Eilertsen) 05:35 6. Spring Psalm (M. Eilertsen) 06:58 7. Raag Löyly (T. Seim) 07:13 8. Rubato alla Grande (Ø. Brække) 06:39 9. Something’s Motion (P. O. Johansen) 04:00 10. Big Shuffle (Ø. Brække) 03:16 11. Responsorium (Ø. Brække) 04:46 12. Momk (T.Seim) 03:27 13. Theme for Alvar Wirkola (P. O. Johansen) 03:02 14. Dawn (Ø. Brække) 06:59

More From This Artist: The Source

Shipping calculated at checkout.