1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

The Monochrome Set - Volume, Contrast, Brilliance Vol.1 [Coloured Vinyl]

Optic Nerve

  • £28.78

Format: LP, clear vinyl with black, blue & white splatter
Catalogue No.: OPT4051
Barcode: 5065010051171
Release Date: 17 Jun 2022
Genre: Classic Indie/Post-Punk

Deluxe reissue on clear vinyl with black, blue & white splatter.

Presented in an embossed gloss laminated gatefold sleeve with lyrics & Printed inner sleeve.
Includes 2 bonus tracks.

Originally released in 1983 this hugely rewarding record acted as a round up of the group’s career to date and was of immeasurable value to fans. It’s aged well, too.

Comprising of A and B sides from their Rough Trade released singles plus extracts from sessions for Radio 1, Capital Radio and EMI Records, this LP contains unique versions of such classic tracks as “The Jet Set Junta” and “He’s Frank (Slight Return)”.

Oddities, and jocular moments run through the album, including John Peel introducing “Fat Fun” and thinking aloud that those Monochrome boys might be having a pop at him. The fact that it includes a wish list of the band’s best songs to this point in their career is another reason to recommend it.

Previously they may have made a handful of slightly-off-target albums, but this 1983 compilation is a front-to-back joy, fast, restless and perfectly sequenced. It plays like a cohesive album.

Includes 2 bonus tracks from the February 1979 Peel Session ‘Love Goes Down The Drain’ & ‘Noise (Eine Kleine Symphonie)’.

Side 1 Eine Symphonie Des Grauens , The Jet Set Junta, Love Zombies, Silicon Carne, The Ruling Class, Viva Death Row, The Man With The Black Moustache

Side 2 He’s Frank (Slight Return) , Fun For All Of The Family, Lester Leaps In, ICI Les Enfants, Fat Run, Alphaville, Avanti (Ten Don’ts For Honeymooners) Love Goes Down The Drain, Noise (Eine Kleine Symphonie)

More From This Artist: The Monochrome Set

Shipping calculated at checkout.