New website, returning customers please re-register

Forgot your password?

Create Account

1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

The Finn Brothers - Finn

Needle Mythology

  • £35.98

Format: 2 x 12" Vinyl
Catalogue No.: NEMYLP006
Barcode: 195081002132
Release Date: 29 Jul 2022
Genre: Pop

Needle Mythology reissue a special expanded album edition of Finn, the album released by New Zealand’s most celebrated musical siblings Tim and Neil Finn to acclaim both from critics and long-time fans who had followed the pair’s work since their time in together in Split Enz. This is the first time Finn has received a vinyl release. Released in close collaboration with Tim and Neil, the newly-expanded Finn comes with an entire album The Finn Demos, which gathers together ten songs from 1989’s legendary Murchison St sessions, remastered by Miles Showell at Abbey Road Studios. Convening at Neil’s new Melbourne apartment with a view to making an album together, Tim and Neil embarked on an intensely productive period, writing several songs that would briefly result in Tim joining Crowded House for the resulting Woodface album. Assisted by the late Paul Hester on drums, the demos capture a host of songs that would go on to be played in arenas around the world in their newborn state: ‘It’s Only Natural’, ‘Catherine Wheels’, ‘Weather With You’, featuring a whole extra verse and the previously unreleased ‘Four Stepping in 3/4 Time’. For this release, long-time fan and collaborator on Neil’s 7 Worlds Collide project, Ed O’Brien (Radiohead) contributed liner notes, hymning the album’s “heavy” beauty and its “elemental energy.” Featuring brand new artwork designed by Needle Mythology’s James Gosling, the expanded Finn features newly-unearthed images of Tim and Neil taken by Darryl Ward during the sessions for the album. For this release, Tim and Neil have also shared the “listening notes” submitted by the brothers’ parents – something they would do for every song their sons wrote. For Finn, Tim and Neil enlisted the services of Tchad Blake, whose “feel”-based approach brought out the best in the brothers, who played every instrument on the record. Writing about the record for Mojo at the time, David Hepworth characterised Finn as a “warm and loose record” that hardcore fans would undoubtedly “adore”. Originally released on Parlophone Records, Finn spawned an unlikely top 30 hit, the mesmerising semi-improvised psych-rock fan favourite ‘Suffer Never’. The expanded double album edition of Finn has been cut at Abbey Road by Miles Showell and pressed on 180g vinyl at The Vinyl Factory.

Disc: 1
1. Only Talking Sense
2. Niwhai
3. Where Is My Soul
4. Eyes Of The World
5. Mood Swinging Man
6. Bullets In My Hairdo
7. Paradise (Wherever You Are)
8. Last Day Of June
9. Suffer Never
10. Kiss The Road Of Rarotonga
11. Angel’s Heap Disc: 2
1. Weather With You (Demo)
2. Catherine Wheels (Demo)
3. Strangeness And Charm (Demo)
4. Prodigal Son (Demo)
5. Four-Stepping In 3/4 Time (Demo)
6. Four Seasons In One Day (Demo)
7. There Goes God (Demo)
8. In Love With It All (Demo)
9. It’s Only Natural (Demo)
10. How Will You Go (Demo)

More From This Artist: The Finn Brothers

Shipping calculated at checkout.