New website, returning customers please re-register

Forgot your password?

Create Account

1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

The Cinematic Orchestra - Ma Fleur [Clear Vinyl LP]

Ninja Tune

  • £22.95

Format: Clear Vinyl LP
Catalogue No.: ZEN122HC
Barcode: 5054429148725
Release Date: 30th July 2021
Genre: Electronic, Jazz

A1. To Build A Home
A2. Familiar Ground
A3. That Home
A4. Child Song
B1. Music Box
B2. Ma Fleur
B3. Prelude
B4. As The Stars Fall
C1. Into You
C2. Breathe
C3. Time and Space
D1. Flowers
D2. Talking About Freedom
D3. Colours

Clear Vinyl Spec: Limited edition double clear 140g Vinyl featuring three bonus tracks. Housed in a gatefold sleeve with four double sided art cards.

The Cinematic Orchestra have announced a very special reissue of their classic 2007 album ‘Ma Fleur’. There will be a limited edition clear vinyl version available at all retailers. Include three tracks from the time that have never been released on vinyl; ‘Flowers’, ‘Talking About Freedom’ and ‘Colours’, and come with four double sided art cards/prints.

At the time the album was recognised for its bold departure from the group’s sonic traditions. In the years since, it’s been continuously celebrated, with tracks like ‘To Build A Home’ reaching huge audiences with over half a billion streams to date. The band have performed sold out shows in some of the world's most prestigious venues including London's Royal Albert Hall, Philharmonie de Paris, Rome’s Auditorium Park Della and the Sydney Opera House and festivals such as Coachella, Glastonbury, Fuji Rock, Montreux and Sonar have all played host to the band’s much loved live performances. Their latest album ‘To Believe’ in 2019 debuted at a career high #19 on the Official UK Album Chart and was #1 on the UK vinyl chart.

Dealing with themes of loss and love - and in itself representing a kind of absence - "Ma Fleur" is fertile ground for Swinscoe and long term collaborator Dominic Smith's brand of music-making, for while people rightly have talked about what they do in terms of jazz, the truth is that the basis of their music has always also been in raw emotion. From the achingly beautiful opener "To Build A Home" to the finale, "Time And Space," this is an album which reaches for and finds a truth and honesty far beyond what we would normally expect from such a record, but without losing any of the accessibility which made the band popular in the first place. If the mood is melancholy, The Cinematic Orchestra manage to make it an ultimately uplifting experience, perhaps in the end more about the love you find than the love you lose…

Select Press Quotes in 2007 on the release of ‘Ma Fleur’

“An Immensely moving, utterly distinct night-time world which is a pleasure to inhabit… Demands close attention.” Guardian 4/5

“Soul Power at its deepest and most profound. Capable of real wonder.” Mojo 4/5

“Lush, leftfield, Genius.” Mixmag 4/5

“Something Special.” Observer Music Monthly 4/5 – A Top 10 Album

“You’d be very fortunate to hear another record this incredible this year.” Word

“Ma Fleur is a majestic visceral experience.” Straight No Chaser (Cover Feature)

More From This Artist: The Cinematic Orchestra

Shipping calculated at checkout.