New website, returning customers please re-register

Forgot your password?

Create Account

1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Tangerine Dream - Pilots of Purple Twilight: The Virgin Recordings 1980 1983


  • £114.75

Format: 10CD Boxset / Digital
Catalogue No.: 897008
Release Date: 16th October 2020
Genre: Electronic

Tangerine Dream are one of the true pioneers of electronic and ambient music, and the albums they recorded for Virgin Records between 1980 and 1983 remain classics of the genre. Off the back of the success of In Search Of Hades, UMC presents this 10CD box set showcasing the next chapter in this period of Tangerine Dream’s history. The box set features newly re-mastered versions of the albums Tangram, Thief, Exit, White Eagle, Logos, Hyperborea along with the previously unreleased
soundtracks from the films The Soldier, the 1982 movie directed by James Glickenhaus and The Keep from the 1983 movie directed by Michael Mann, something of a holy grail for Tangerine Dream fans. All audio has been re-mastered from the original master tapes by Ben Wiseman.

Pilots of Purple Twilight also features additional previously unreleased material across 4 discs, including the full concert at The Dominion Theatre, London (November 1982). In addition to this the soundtrack to Thief includes an extended promotional only version of “Dr. Destructo”, White Eagle features six bonus tracks recorded for the German television crime drama series Tatort (originally released on a 12-inch single and a 7-inch single in Germany only), all of which are released for the first time on CD and digitally. Finally, Hyperborea includes five bonus tracks originally issued on the Virgin soundtrack LP for the movie Risky Business, including Tangerine Dream’s biggest streaming track, Love On A Real Train.

Pilots Of Purple Twilight is lavishly packaged with a hard-back book with a new essay and many rare photographs and memorabilia.

1CD versions of Tangram, Thief, Exit, White Eagle, Hyperborea & Logos will also be released, the audio on these will be from the 2020 remasters and will feature bonus tracks from box.

A D2C edition of the box set will be available which contains a reproduction of a rare poster.

CD One:
Released as Virgin V 2147 in May 1980
1. Tangram Set 1
2. Tangram Set 2

CD Two:
Released as Virgin V 2198 in March 1981
1. Beach Theme
2. Dr. Destructo
3. Diamond Diary
4. Burning Bar
5. Beach Scene
6. Scrap Yard
7. Trap Feeling
8. Igneous

Bonus track:
9. Dr. Destructo (extended version) (promo only)

Previously unreleased on CD
CD Three:
Released as Virgin V 2212 in September 1981
1. Kiew Mission
2. Pilots of Purple Twilight
3. Choronzon
4. Exit
5. Network 23
6. Remote Viewing

CD Four:
“White Eagle”
Released as Virgin V 2226 in April 1982
1. Mojave Plan
2. Midnight in Tula
3. Convention of the 24
4. White Eagle

Bonus tracks:
5. Das Mädchen auf der Treppe
6. Flock
7. Katja
8. Speed

Taken from the 12-inch EP “Das Mädchen auf der Treppe”, Released in Germany as Virgin 600 651 in May 1982 Previously unreleased on CD
9. Daydream
10. Moorland

A & B-sides of single – Released in Germany as Virgin 105 271 in May 1983
Previously unreleased on CD

CD Five:
“The Soldier” soundtrack
Recorded in 1981 / 1982 at Polygon Studio and Amber Studio in West-Berlin
Final mixing at Amber Studio, West-Berlin in June 1982
1. Main Titles
2. Cue #1 – variation on Logos #1
3. Cue #2 – variation on Horizon #1
4. Cue #3 – The Soldier #1
5. Cue #4 – variation on Dolphin Dance
6. Cue #5 – variation on Tangent #1
7. Cue #6 – The Soldier #2
8. Cue #7 – The Soldier #3
9. Cue #8 – The Soldier #4
10. Cue #9 – The Soldier #5
11. Cue #10 – variation on Horizon #2
12. Cue #11 – The Soldier #6
13. Cue #12 – The Soldier #7
14. Cue #13 - variation on Logos #2
15. Cue #14 – The Soldier #8
16. Cue #15 – variation on Horizon #3
17. End Titles

CD Six:
The Dominion Theatre Concert
6th November 1982
Previously unreleased
1. The Dominion Concert Part One

CD Seven:
The Dominion Theatre Concert
6th November 1982
Previously unreleased
1. The Dominion Concert Part Two
2. Midnight in Tula
3. White Eagle
4. Dominion

CD Eight:
Released as Virgin V 2257 in December 1982
1. Logos (Part 1)
2. Logos (Part 2)
3. Dominion

CD Nine:
Released as Virgin V 2292 in October 1983
1. No Man’s Land
2. Hyperborea
3. Cinnamon Road
4. Sphinx Lightning

Bonus tracks:
5. The Dream is Always the Same
6. No Future (Get off the Babysitter)
7. Guido the Killer Pimp
8. Lana
9. Love on a Real Train (Risky Business)

Taken from the soundtrack album: “Risky Business”
Released as Virgin V 2302 in 1984
CD Ten:
“The Keep”
Soundtrack to the 1983 film directed by Michael Mann
Previously unreleased
1. Puer Natus Est Nobis (Gloria)
2. Arx Allemand
3. Truth and Fiction
4. The Silver Seal
5. Ancient Powerplant
6. Supernatural Accomplice
7. The Challenger's Arrival
8. Heritage Survival
9. Parallel Words
10. Canzone
11. Voices from a Common Land
12. Wardays Sunrise
13. The Night in Romania

More From This Artist: Tangerine Dream

Shipping calculated at checkout.