New website, returning customers please re-register

Forgot your password?

Create Account

1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Spell Songs - Spell Songs II: Let The Light In

Quercus Records

  • £18.88

Format: CD
Catalogue No.: QRCD005
Barcode: 5051078990828
Release Date: 10 Dec 2021
Genre: Folk Singer/Songwriter

Spell Songs offers a musical voice to the forgotten and often endangered natural world that surrounds us. It comprises an ensemble of musicians collaborating with E.M Forster Award-winning author Robert Macfarlane and award-winning illustrator Jackie Morris; to create a listening experience that intersects music, literature, language and art, as a call to reawaken our love of the wild. The Spell Songs ensemble includes and features Karine Polwart, Julie Fowlis, Seckou Keita, Kris Drever, Rachel Newton, Beth Porter and Jim Molyneux — all renowned musicians in their own right. Together, their music blends a diverse array of sounds from instruments like the kora, electroharp, cello, Indian harmonium and more, which are gorgeously layered with musical and linguistic influences spanning from Orkney to Senegal. ’Spell Songs II: Let The Light In’, produced and recorded by Andy Bell of Hudson Records at Real World Studios, is the follow up to the group’s 2019 self-titled album, which The Guardian called "a brave and magical creation" and accompanied ’The Lost Words’ and ‘The Lost Spells’ best-selling books, created in response to the loss of nature words from our children's everyday vocabulary.

1. Bramble
2. St Kilda Wren
3. Oak
4. Swifts
5. Jay
6. Daisy
7. Swallow
8. Bird of the Blizzard
9. Thrift (Dig In, Dig In)
10. Gorse
11. Red is Your Art
12. Barn Owl
13. Moth
14. Curlew
15. Silver Birch

More From This Artist: Spell Songs

Shipping calculated at checkout.