1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Soul Jazz Records presents - STUDIO ONE RUDE BOY [2LP Red & Cyan]

Soul Jazz Records

  • £34.18

Format: LPX2, red & cyan vinyl
Catalogue No.: SJRLP148C
Barcode: 5026328701486
Release Date: 20 Apr 2024
Genre: Reggae

Soul Jazz Records’ new 18th anniversary one-off limited-edition heavyweight special-edition red and cyan coloured vinyl pressing (+ download code) exclusively for Record Store Day 2024 of their long out of print classic release Studio One Rude Boy. This album is fully remastered and relicensed for RSD 24!

From the early days of Bob Marley and The Wailers (whose striking sharp-suited Rude Boy style appears on the front cover) through to the classic 1970s Jamaican films ‘The Harder They Come’ and ‘Rockers’, Rude Boys have been synonymous with Jamaican Reggae culture.

This Jamaican Rude Boy anti-establishment attitude and stylish attire was later adopted by bands such as The Clash (in the film Rude Boy) as well as The Specials, Madness, Selector and others in the Two-Tone era that swept across the UK at the end of the 1970s.

The album features classic tracks from Studio One featuring Jamaica’s finest singers and groups such as The Wailers, John Holt, the Wailing Souls and Dennis Brown alongside super-rare hard-to-find tracks from artists such as Mr Foundation, Dudley Sibley and Jim Brown.

Driving Ska and Rocksteady rhythms, classic singers, killer horn lines, great Rude Boy-themed songs, all recorded under Clement ‘Sir Coxsone’ Dodd’s supervision at the legendary Studio One.

With musical backing comes from the legendary in-house bands – The Skatalites, The Sound Dimension, Soul Vendors and Soul Defenders – this is rightly one of the most in-demand Studio One releases that Soul Jazz Records have ever released.

1. Jackie Opel – You're Too Bad
2. Johnny Osbourne – Murderer
3. John Holt – Hooligan
4. Keith McCarthy – Everybody Rude Now
1. Owen Gray – Ballistic Affair
2. Roy Richards – Get Smart
3. Dillinger – Stop The War
4. Jim Brown –Love In The Dance
1. Desmond Baker And The Clarendonians – Rude Boy
Gone A Jail
2. The Wailers – Good Good Rudie
3. Dennis Brown – Make It Easy On Yourself
4. Wailing Souls – Don't Fight It
5. Dub Specialist – Peace Theme
1. Mr Foundation – See Them A Come
2. Dudley Sibley – Run Boy Run
3. Dennis Brown –Johnny Too Bad
4. Bob Andy – Crime Don't Pay
5. Soul Brothers – Mr Kiss A Bang Bang

More From This Artist: Bob Andy Dennis Brown Desmond Baker And The Clarendonians Dillinger Dub Specialist Dudley Sibley Jackie Opel Jim Brown John Holt Johnny Osbourne Keith McCarthy Mr Foundation Owen Gray Roy Richards Soul Brothers The Wailers Wailing Souls

Shipping calculated at checkout.