1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Soul Jazz Records Presents In The Beginning There Was Rhythm (2024 Edition, Feat. ACR, Cabaret Voltaire, The Pop Group, Gang of Four, etc)

Soul Jazz Records

  • £34.18

Format: 2xLP + Download Code
Catalogue No.: SJRLP550C
Barcode: 5026328005508
Release Date: 10 May 2024
Genre: Indie/Alt/Dance

 Unavailable for over 20 years, In The Beginning There Was Rhythm was Soul Jazz Records first foray into post-punk and punk-funk in the UK and captures the groundbreaking and seminal groups that crossed the divide of punk and dance music for the first time.


" In the Beginning is essential missing-link history – and body-rockin' fun" The Guardian

" In the Beginning doesn't have a single limp tune. It'll amaze new listeners and give old ones some hard-to-find tracks. Buy it." Pitchfork

"There's no denying that In the Beginning There Was Rhythm is a great gateway into this expansive, fruitful, trailblazing era." All Music


First released in 2001, this album is fully remastered, remade and presented once more in its entirety and features A Certain Ratio, Cabaret Voltaire, Throbbing Gristle, The Human League, The Pop Group, Gang of Four, The Slits, 23 Skidoo and This Heat.

This album comes as a limited-edition one-off pressing double coloured vinyl (red and blue) complete with two bespoke inner bags containing extensive sleevenotes and original photography.

As Muzik magazine noted on its initial release 'In The Beginning' is a choice selection from the fertile post-punk period when bands thought nothing of combining politics and philosophy with imported dance rhythms and edgy industrial angst.

The bands featured come (mostly) from the then bleak post-industrial North of England - Manchester, Sheffield, Leeds as well as Bristol and London, and yet all show a fascination with black American rhythms and an experimentation in sound that was completely unique at the time.

The title of the album comes from The Slits track of the same name.

This album is produced with all the original photos and full extensive sleevenotes..

1 A Certain Ratio – Shack Up
2 23 Skidoo – Coup
3 Gang Of Four – To Hell With Poverty
4 The Human League – Being Boiled
5 The Slits – In The Beginning There Was Rhythm
6 This Heat – 24 Track Loop
7 Throbbing Gristle – 20 Jazz Funk Greats
8 The Pop Group – She Is Beyond Good and Evil
9 Cabaret Voltaire – Sluggin For Jesus
10 23 Skidoo – Vegas El Bandito
11 A Certain Ratio – Knife Slits Water

More From This Artist: 23 Skidoo A Certain Ratio Cabaret Voltaire Gang Of Four The Human League The Pop Group The Slits This Heat Throbbing Gristle

Shipping calculated at checkout.