1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Soul Jazz Records Presents - 200% DYNAMITE! Ska, Soul, Rocksteady, Funk & Dub in Jamaica [2LP Red & Blue Vinyl]

Soul Jazz Records

  • £34.18

Format: 2 x LP, Red & Blue Vinyl
Catalogue No.: SJRLP517C
Barcode: 5026328805177
Release Date: 22 Apr 2023
Genre: International

Soul Jazz Records’ 200% Dynamite! set the benchmark for reggae meets funk compilations that has never been bettered. Out of print for over 15 years this new 2023 edition with new tracks and is being released in a one-off limited-edition heavyweight special-edition coloured vinyl pressing + download code exclusively for Record Store Day 2023.
Jam-packed with reggae tunes that crossed-over to become dancefloor hits such as Tenor Saw’s sound boy anthem ‘Ring the Alarm,’ K.C. White’s classic cut of the seminal ‘No, No, No’ and Augustus Pablo’s ‘Rockers Rock’, 200% Dynamite explores the links between reggae, jazz, funk and soul.
Carrying on perfectly from 100% Dynamite, this second compilation continues to trace the history of Jamaican reggae and the influence of American styles such as funk and jazz had on this music.
Featured here are serious funk and rocksteady tunes from the likes of The Skatalites and Johnny Osbourne through to Jamaican jazz from masters such as Tommy McCook and Byron Lee, as well as some serious dub from the likes of Augustus Pablo, King Tubby and Jackie Mittoo.
New bonus tracks on this new 2023 edition include seminal dancehall party cuts Sister Nancy’s ‘One Two’ and Chaka Demus and Pliers’ ‘Murder She Wrote’, alongside classic soul to reggae covers including cuts of Marlena Shaw’s ‘Women of the Ghetto’ and Odyssey’s ‘Don’t Tell Me Tell Her’.

‘Once again, Soul Jazz goes digging through the reggae vaults and produces another sterling compilation. If you’re looking for a primer on the music of the island, you could do worse than buying every one of the records in this superb compilation series.’ All Music
‘In Soul Jazz’s outstanding Dynamite! series 200% is the head-turner. The label has its finger on the pulse of the now just as surely as it does on that of the past.’ Pitchfork
‘Soul Jazz Records ‘Dynamite’ series has quickly become a
rewarding guide to reggae’s most infectious back pages. Every home
needs some Dynamite.’ Irish Times
‘Soul Jazz Records’ long-running series
of highly-regarded reggae albums.’
Rough Trade

1. Augustus Pablo - Rockers Rock
2. K.C. White - No No No
3. Tenor Saw - Ring The Alarm
4. Johnny Osbourne - Bewitched

1. Pinchers - Agony
2. The Abyssinians - Mandela
3. Sister Nancy - One, Two

1. King Tubby Meets Tommy McCook and The Aggrovators - King Tubby Dub
2. Chaka Demus & Pliers - Murder She Wrote
3. Johnny Osbourne - Ready Or Not
4. Jackie Mittoo - Earthquake

1. Sandra Reid - Don't Tell Me Tell Her
2. The Skatalites Meet King Tubby - Herb Man Dub
3. Kim Harriott - Woman Of The Ghetto

More From This Artist: Augustus Pablo Chaka Demus & Pliers Jackie Mittoo Johnny Osbourne K.C. White Kim Harriott King Tubby Meets Tommy McCook and The Aggrovators Pinchers Sandra Reid Sister Nancy Tenor Saw The Abyssinians The Skatalites Meet King Tubby

Shipping calculated at checkout.