1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Ron Magril - Until Now [CD]

Ubuntu Music

  • £8.98

Format: CD
Catalogue No.: UBU0106CD
Barcode: 5060451220186
Release Date: 27 May 2022
Genre: Contemporary Jazz

Ron is a rising jazz guitarist and composer from Tel Aviv. He started his musical journey when his grandfather taught him to play violin and at the age of 10. Ultimately, he fell in love with the guitar, which remains his main instrument. Ron was inspired by the sound of the Hard Bop of the 1950s and 1960s. His music and his playing attempt to recreate the vibe and the sound of this genre while evolving modern concepts and sounds into a mixture of old and new. He is currently a student at The New School in New York, after being awarded a scholarship from the New School in 2018. Ron describes his debut project: “I truly believe that ‘Until Now’ describes exactly who I am as a musician and as a human being. When the pandemic started and I had to leave my new home in New York, hold my studies for a while and return to Tel Aviv, my hometown. Those days were tough for me. To feel that emptiness and depression made me realize how passionate I am about recording and playing my music live and I knew that it was finally the right moment for me to record my debut album and to play my music again.” Ron called on some of his dearest friends to record the album with him…Avshalom Meidan (piano), Oren Hardy (bass) and the exceptional Ofri Nehemya (drums). Ron explains: “Working with Avshalom, Oren and Ofri was like a dream come true for me and I feel that our longstanding friendship helped us to find our sound as a band.” Regarding his new relationship with Ubuntu Music, Ron continues: “I’m so excited to join the Ubuntu Music family. To release ‘Until Now’ with Ubuntu is such a big honor for me and I’m truly grateful for the opportunity to share my music. Working with Ubuntu and Martin Hummel on this album was inspiring. I’m so glad to begin our journey together.”

1. It's the Cops
2. For You
3. Pete
4. I'm Starting to Smile Again
5. Meaningful Moments
6. Medium
7. I Love You
8. Africa

More From This Artist: Ron Magril

Shipping calculated at checkout.