New website, returning customers please re-register

Forgot your password?

Create Account

1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Rod Stewart - Rod Stewart: 1975-1978


  • £114.75

Release Date: 4th June 2021
Format: 5 LP Boxset
UPC: 081227932657
Genre: Rock

Includes a bonus LP of rare and unreleased studio outtakes

Sir Rod Stewart was on his way to becoming one of the most successful recording artists in history in 1974 when he moved to America and signed with Warner Bros. Records (now Warner Records). Over his next 27 years with the label, Stewart released some of the most commercially successful and critically acclaimed records of his extraordinary career. This 5LP boxed set features Stewart's first four Warner albums on vinyl, plus a bonus LP of rare and unreleased studio outtakes from those albums: Atlantic Crossing (1975), A Night on the Town (1976), Footloose & Fancy Free (1977), and Blondes Have More Fun (1978).

After being out of print for decades, the studio albums look and sound better than ever as they return to vinyl, complete with replica sleeves and newly remastered sound. The albums and the bonus LP are all organised in an iridescent box with Stewart foil-stamped on the cover, his blonde shag haircut glistening in gold, and his leopard-print suit shimmering in silver.
After brilliant stints with the Jeff Beck Group and the Faces and several outstanding solo albums, Stewart moved to Los Angeles in 1974. ROD STEWART: 1975-1978 reflects the burst of creativity that followed, starting in 1975 with his label debut, Atlantic Crossing. The album was produced by the legendary Tom Dowd, who produced Stewart's next three albums. After Atlantic Crossing was certified gold, A Night On the Town went double-platinum, and Foot Loose & Fancy Free went triple-platinum, as did its follow-up Blondes Have More Fun, which became Stewart's first #1 album. That era introduced many of the singer's best-known tracks: "Sailing," "I Don't Want to Talk About It," "I Was Only Joking," "The First Cut Is the Deepest," "You're in My Heart (The Final Acclaim)," "Da Ya Think I'm Sexy?" and "Hot Legs."

The bonus LP, titled Encores 1975-1978, is a collection of 10 outtakes selected from the recording sessions for all four albums. The first side highlights five songs from the recent deluxe editions released for Atlantic Crossing and A Night on the Town. Songs include an alternate version of the B-side "Rosie" and a cover of the Bee Gees' "To Love Somebody" recorded with the influential Stax Records house band, Booker T. & The MG's. The flip side features five previously unreleased session outtakes from Foot Loose & Fancy Free and Blondes Have More Fun. Highlights include a cover of the Motown classic, "You Really Got A Hold On Me," and the unreleased tracks "Silver Tongue" and "Don't Hang Up".

Track List
LP 1 : Atlantic Crossing (1975)
Fast Side
1. "Three Time Loser"
2. "Alright For An Hour"
3. "All In The Name Of Rock' N' Roll"
4. "Drift Away"
5. "Stone Cold Sober"

Slow Side
1. "I Don't Want To Talk About It"
2. "It's Not The Spotlight"
3. "This Old Heart Of Mine"
4. "Still Love You"
5. "Sailing"

LP 2: A Night on the Town (1976)
Slow Side
1. "Tonight’s The Night (Gonna Be Alright)”
2. “The First Cut Is The Deepest”
3. “Fool For You”
4. “The Killing Of Georgie (Part I And II)”

Fast Side
1. “The Balltrap”
2. “Pretty Flamingo”
3. “Big Bayou”
4. “The Wild Side Of Life”
5. “Trade Winds”

LP 3: Footloose & Fancy Free (1977)
Side One
1. “Hot Legs”
2. “You’re Insane”
3. “You’re In My Heart (The Final Acclaim)”
4. “Born Loose”

Side Two
1. “You Keep Me Hangin’ On”
2. “(If Loving You Is Wrong) I Don’t Want To Be Right”
3. “You Got A Nerve”
4. “I Was Only Joking”

LP 4: Blondes Have More Fun (1978)
Side One
1. “Da Ya Think I’m Sexy?”
2. “Dirty Weekend”
3. “Ain’t Love A Bitch”
4. “The Best Days Of My Life”
5. “Is That The Thanks I Get?”

Side One Continued
1. “Attractive Female Wanted”
2. “Blondes (Have More Fun)”
3. “Last Summer”
4. “Standin’ In The Shadows Of Love”
5. “Scarred and Scared”

LP 5: Encores 1975-1978
Side One
1. “Holy Cow” – with Booker T. & The MG’s
2. “To Love Somebody” – with Booker T. & The MG’s
3. “Return To Sender” – with Booker T. & The MG’s
4. “Rosie” – Early Version
5. “Get Back” – Alternate Version
Side Two
1. “You Really Got A Hold On Me” *
2. “Honey, Let Me Be Your Man” *
3. “Lost Love” *
4. “Silver Tongue” *
5. “Don’t Hang Up” *

* previously unreleased

More From This Artist: Rod Stewart

Shipping calculated at checkout.