1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Reece Cox - Clang

iDEAL Recordings

  • £19.80

Format: LP (Torquoise Vinyl)
Catalogue No.: iDEAL196
Release Date: 21st August 2020
Genre: Electronic

• Complex, un-serious syncopated dance music
• Somewhere between Braindance and hooligan computer music
• RIYL Evol, Errorsmith, Peder Mannerfelt
• 200 Copies

A strong look for Errorsmith, Evol and Peder Mannerfelt heads - Reece Cox debuts a charmingly daft and animated style of syncopated, technoid dance music on iDEAL.
Berlin-based, ofc, Cox generates playfully raving and nutty results from a concept-driven approach on ‘Clang’, which takes its title in tribute to what he describes as; “…a term coined by American Composer, James Tenney to describe a musical unit composed of discreet elements that come together to form a cohesive and singular sonic event… a sonic cartoon aimed not at as sophisticated sonic experience, but sophisticated perceptual one”.
So yeah it’s less PLUR oneness and perhaps more techgnostically centred on the body, but the results are dead effective and cohesive, lending his own spin to the whole sound designer techno paradigm in standouts like the warped UKF/Soca-house of ‘Clang 2’, and a gnarled sidespin on Errorsmith tekkers with ‘Clang 5’ and ‘Clang 7’ that come spaced out nicely with the lurid cutesiness of ‘Clang 4’ and a dose of Belgian hoover headfloss in ‘Clang 6’.
Call it braindance, hooligan computer music, conceptronica (lol) or whatever you want, it’s just dead good fun if you like this sorta craic.

1. Clang 1
2. Clang 2
3. Clang 3
4. Clang 4
5. Clang 5
6. Clang 6
7. Clang 7

More From This Artist: reece cox

Shipping calculated at checkout.