New website, returning customers please re-register

Forgot your password?

Create Account

1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind


black focus

  • £21.60 ( )
RELEASE DATE 20th May 2020
Genres - Funk

Track Listing
Side 1
A1. Escobar
A2. Theme From Metronome
A3. World Aid
A4. Instant Toothpaste
A5. Eternal Breeze
A6. Yurok
A7. 4 Benz

Side 2
B1. Dibidai
B2. Rock
B3. Bleeding To Death
B4. Sturf
B5. Alright
B6. Mutti Hat Gekocht

Max Graef and Julius Conrad are Ratgrave. ‘Rock’ is their second album – ongoing transmissions of Electronic P-Fusion from earth. It follows a stellar debut on Funkineven’s imprint Apron. The duo’s sound palette draws inspiration from 80s funk, soul, rock and electronic but through a contemporary lens from two versatile multi-instrumentalist.

In their own words: ‘Rock is the essence of energy and vibration we felt in different styles of music, almost like a parallel component connecting all things we like, In the process of recording the new album we kept coming back to this essence no matter what style of original idea was. There was the raw and brutal energy of Jazz-Rock, a lot of video game influences that somehow adhered this essence just as well as quieter Pop and Psychedelic passages that we recorded. Among other things we absorbed a lot of heavy music during the time of recording like Blue Cheer, Black Sabbath, Frank Zappa or Jimi Hendrix and realized while writing our own music how much impact they had even on quieter song. This is why ‘Rock’ felt like the perfect title although the music ranges from P-Funk and Spiritual Jazz to various styles Pop and beyond.

Max Graef has previously collaborated with Glen Astro on records for Ninja Tune and both artists have previously released on Tartelet

This marks the fourth official album of Black Focus, a London label found by Kamaal Williams.
Shipping calculated at checkout.