New website, returning customers please re-register

Forgot your password?

Create Account

1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Plunky & Oneness Of Juju - Make A Change [CD]


  • £10.80 ( )

Release date: 14th May 2021
Formats: CD
Label: Strut
Catalogue Number: STRUT257CD 
Barcode: CD: 4062548014846 
Genre: Funk

Format Details: 2LP in single sleeve with 12” insert sheet / 1CD digipak with 8PP boolket

Strut present the definitive edition of a 1977 classic, Plunky & Oneness Of Juju’s ‘Make A Change’ album featuring the international hit ‘Every Way But Loose’ and five previously unheard studio takes.

Recorded at Omega studios in Maryland, the album marked a transition for the band with lead vocalist Jackie Eka-Ete recording her last sessions with Plunky and Virtania Tillery taking over lead vocal duties. “‘Make A Change’ was always designed as a slightly more commercial entry in our discography,” says Plunky. “We approached the sessions in the same way that we had approached all of our music since the early ‘70s. We played extended jams because we would always find something within those explorations. The songs had enough organic qualities to be considered R&B and enough rhythm to be Afro funk.

After catching fire in Washington DC clubs through local record pools, the dancefloor favourite ‘Every Way But Loose’ famously became an anthem for Larry Levan at New York’s Paradise Garage, kick-starting international success for the track. Other album cuts like funk workout ‘Higher’ and the wistful stepper ‘Always Have To Say Goodbye’ have remained staples among soulful DJs worldwide. “The songs and lyrics on this album have come back around full circle,” continues Plunky. “With songs like ‘(Family Tree) Make A Change’ and ‘Every Way But Loose’, we don’t have to change one word for them to be relevant all these years later. The positive messages are universal and timeless.”

This definitive edition of ‘Make A Change’ features the full original album alongside five previously unheard studio takes, all remastered by The Carvery from the original tapes. Bonus tracks include extended studio versions of ‘Every Way But Loose’ and ‘Always Have To Say Goodbye’ and a previously unheard version of ‘Time’. Package features brand new liner notes by bandleader Plunky Branch. Released on CD, 2LP, digital and streaming.

- Definitive edition of Plunky & Oneness Of Juju’s last album for Black Fire Records from 1977
- Includes 5 x previously unheard studio takes of album tracks + ‘Plastic’ and ‘Time’
- Features the original version and a previously unreleased version of international dancefloor hit ‘Every Way But Loose’
- Package features new liner notes by bandleader Plunky Branch. Remastered from original tapes by The Carvery

1. (Family Tree) Make A Change
2. Run Away Bay
3. Love’s Wonderland
4. Every Way But Loose
5. Higher
6. Always Have To Say Goodbye
7. Plastic (Previously Unreleased Version)
8. Time (Previously Unreleased Version)
9. Every Way But Loose (Extended Version)
10. Run Away Bay (Extended Version)

Shipping calculated at checkout.