1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Pit Pony - World To Me [CD]


  • £10.69

Format: CD
Catalogue No.: CLUE118CD
Barcode: 5060168043122
Release Date: 01 Jul 2022
Genre: Garage Rock/Fuzz Rock/Alternative

“A seething slice of the finest garage rock” Louder Than War
“A ferocious five-piece” Mary Anne Hobbs
“...a left of field dose of modern garage” Fresh On The Net

Debut Album, following several critically acclaimed singles,
LP = Transparent Gold Coloured Vinyl, Printed Inner Sleeve W/ DL Code + Origami Pony Insert.
4 panel digipack CD.
Playing Stockton Calling Festival + April tour to celebrate album announcement + full UK tour Autumn/ Winter 2022
Fans At: BBC Radio 1, BBC 6Music, Radio X, Amazing Radio, CMJ + funded by PRS Foundation and Help Musicians.

With a rawness that owes influence to the North East coast they call home, Pit Pony are a caustic, fuzz-rock five-piece from Tyneside. The band create an adrenaline fuelled soundtrack for frontwoman Jackie to explore tales of political ineptitude, mental health, motherhood and failed relationships.

In the last 12 months the band played 3 sold out headline shows in Newcastle, supported IDLES at their sold out Newcastle date, supported LIFE on their UK tour and before that, sold out of copies of their first 7” for single ‘Hard Rainfall’. In support of the release, the band will embark on a UK tour in April playing in London, Brighton, Leeds, and at Stockton Calling festival.

With their first new music since 2020, Pit Pony return with their foot firmly on the throttle. Their debut album explores themes of identity, isolation, anxiety, motherhood and although not intentionally, the impact of the pandemic on us all. Songs like Tide of Doubt and Black Tar are quite visceral which Jackie describes as an ‘outlet for the pent up anxiety of isolation and the what seems like constant bad news coming at us from all angles’. World To Me and See Me Be explore the experience of having a baby and navigating life after that. ‘Best Is Yet’ is more of a love letter to Jackie’s younger self, with ‘Supermarket’ and ‘Cold’ exploring themes of complex relationships and self preservation.

Despite a relatively modest back catalogue of just a handful of singles since forming in 2018, Pit Pony have received support from BBC Radio 1, BBC 6Music, Radio X, Amazing Radio with DJs including Steve Lamacq, Mary Anne Hobbs, Huw Stephens and John Kennedy getting on board early. Armed with lots of new music and a bigger sound, the band are back with the bit between their teeth and ready to move.

The band have been supported by PRS Foundation and Help Musicians to create their debut record, released on Clue Records (Bored At My Grandmas House, The Wedding Present, YOWL, Team Picture).
Jackie Purver – Vocals / Garth Purver – Guitar / Andrew Jones – Guitar / Andrew Potter - Bass / Joey Morley - Drums

1. Tide Of Doubt
2. Black Tar
3. Sinking
4. See Me Be
5. World To Me
6. Wish You Would
7. Cold
8. Supermarket
9. Best Is Yet
10. Just That
11. Underwater
12. Profit

More From This Artist: Pit Pony

Shipping calculated at checkout.