New website, returning customers please re-register

Forgot your password?

Create Account

1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Pierce With Arrow - Shatter [LP]


  • £20.14

Format: LP
Catalogue No.: DAIS154LP
Barcode: 011586671126
Release Date: 19th February 2021
Genre: Indie

1. Echo
2. Dissolving to a Voice
3. She Pined Away
4. Obsidian Glass ft. Konrad Black
5. A Tight Passage
6. His Rejection
7. The Night is Ending
8. In the Depths of His Eyes
9. It’s a Love Story, After All ft. dBridge
10. Narcissus

The collaborative debut of American minimal techno pioneer Troy Pierce and Colombian audiovisual artist Natalia Escobar aka Poison Arrow was conceived in reverse: first they created a collection of shadowy surrealist videos, then wrote music inspired by them. This inverted process proved remarkably fruitful. Shatter is a simmering, slow-burn noir odyssey inspired by the Greek myth of Echo and Narcissus, traversing subtle shades of sleepwalker dub, metallic lament, broken beats, and erotic negative space. It's an effectively unsettling evocation of the legend's core theme: “There is nothing more complex than a shattered heart, or a heart that can't love.”

Considering their shared background trafficking in darkened dance floor modes, what's most striking about Pierce with Arrow's partnership is its rhythmic restraint. The album's 10 tracks seethe and shudder between glamor and gloom, with only occasional dread-steeped metronomes mapping the malaise to a grid. They speak of pursuing a “spatial approach” with this project, which manifests in the music's immersive design and patient execution, each mangled clang and rippling pool of bass allowed to reverberate its full flickering waveform.

Guest appearances by austere techno producer Konrad Black (“Obsidian Glass”) and drum n bass institution dBridge (“It's A Love Story, After All”) flow seamlessly into the whole, subtle sculptural accents on a dimly lit descent through purgatories of longing and lust. But the shadows recede for the record's closing cut, “Narcissus,” which swells elegiacally in a mass of devotional drones over a muted heartbeat, like Narcissus gazing upon his reflection in holy awe: elusive true beauty, finally beheld, by itself.

• Minimal techno producer Troy Pierce’s first release in seven years
• Poison Arrow garnered a cult following with the release of her underground hit single ‘If You Don’t Love Me (I’ll Cut Your Face)”
• Includes guest appearances from notable producers dBridge and Konrad Black
• For fans of Demdike Stare, Chris & Cosey, Raime, David Lynch, Deaf Center, Andy Stott, The Caretaker, Lussuria

OTHER ACTIVITY: https://www.daisrecords.com/

More From This Artist: Pierce With Arrow

Shipping calculated at checkout.