New website, returning customers please re-register

Forgot your password?

Create Account

1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Phoxjaw - Royal Swan

Hassle Records

  • £21.58
FORMAT - 12"
RELEASE DATE: 27th Nov 2020
Genres - Prog-Rock, Art Rock

Track Listing
1. Teething
2. Charging Pale Horses
3. Trophies In The Attic
4. An Owl Is A Cat With Wings
5. Triple AAA
6. Bats For Bleeding
7. You Don't Drink A Unicorns Blood
8. The Monk
9. Royal Swan
10. Half House
11. Infinite Badness

The endlessly mercurial, maverick Bristolian quartet PHOXJAW have announced their debut full-length record, Royal Swan, due for release on 3rd July 2020 via Hassle Records. To coincide with the announcement the band have released the first single from the record, 'Half House'. Born from a cabin-fevered recording experience at Devil’s Bridge in Wales, Royal Swan harks back to a fantastical medieval England. Without being overtly political, Royal Swan also details the tension inherent in modern day Great Britain – the sense of isolation and resentment the United Kingdom has fostered versus trying to retain a sense of pride in one’s own country. Listen out especially for the title-track and opening track for this. To this end, and in classic PHOXJAW style, Royal Swan enlists a range of local musicians and sound-experiences, adding to the band’s core unique sound. Devil’s Bridge Cottage leaves its mark on the record, fostering PHOXJAW’s claustrophobic recording experience and physically shaping the sound, with each band member recording in separate rooms (and guitars in an airing cupboard). Self-produced, with drums recorded by Lewis Johns, Royal Swan marks PHOXJAW’s step into the limelight following two highly respected EPs (2018's Goodbye Dinosaur... and 2019's A Playground For Sad Adults). A rare group who combine humour, quirk, intrigue, a huge range of influences, and power, PHOXJAW are a band who’ll never stop having things to say. Having toured with Black Peaks, Pagan, Zakk Sabbath’s cruise, Loathe and plenty more already, PHOXJAW have begun making waves in the UK underground rock scene. Solid support from Kerrang!, Metal Hammer, Dan P Carter’s BBC R1 Rock Show, Total Guitar Magazine and more has earmarked this band as ones to watch, and rightly so. PHOXJAW are: Danny Garland - vocals/bass Josh Gallop - guitar Kieran Gallop - drums Alexander Share - guitar/keys/vocals

More From This Artist: Phoxjaw

Shipping calculated at checkout.