1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind



  • £42.82

Format: 2 x LP
Catalogue No.: UMCLP077
Barcode: 805520240772
Release Date: 31 May 2024
Genre: Leftfield

Originally issued on Science/Virgin in September 2000, Solaris consolidated Rupert Parkes' role as an unmistakable force within the realm of underground dance, wrongfooting some of his audience by moving on from the mathematical drum and bass of his debut, Modus Operandi - This re-issue is presented here with scrupulous attention to the detail of its original UK first pressing and is available on two 140gm LPs

Modus Operandi had been released in 1997 and was both a critical and commercial success, underlining Photek as something of a shadowy leading figure in the world of drum and bass, after his apprenticeship in the preceding years with Metalheadz. Solaris, appearing three years later was eagerly anticipated; it found Photek playing with form and genre.

Glamorama, with its heavily echoed treatment of artist Marie- Jos Jongerius' voice sounds not unlike something from David Byrne and Brian Eno's classic cutups of My Life In The Bush of Ghosts. Where Solaris departs from its predecessor is the beautiful deep house of ‘Mine To Give’ and ‘Can't Come Down’ both featuring Chicago legend Robert Owens on vocals that added heart to Photek's techno soul. However, as if to silence his critics, the relentless eight-and-a half minutes of Infinity showed that few could push the boundaries of drum and bass as could Photek.

Photek is now is an established film and television composer in Hollywood.
However, his work is fondly remembered and greatly respected.

Disc 1
1. Terminus
2. Juno
3. Glamourama
4. Mine To Give
5. Can’t Come Down
6. Infinity
7. Solaris
8. Halogen
9. Lost Blue Heaven
10. Under The Palms

More From This Artist: PHOTEK

Shipping calculated at checkout.