New website, returning customers please re-register

Forgot your password?

Create Account

1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Philip Parfitt - Mental Home Recordings [LP]

A Turntable Friend

  • £14.56
Genre: Indie
Format: LP
Catalogue No.: TURN74LP
B/C: 4039967026231
Release Date: 20th November 2020

All Fucked Up video : https://youtu.be/riFl_kz2wjU
'Somebody Called Me In' - YouTube https://youtu.be/W05jJchkGvg 'Somebody Called Me In' - Vimeo https://vimeo.com/412484883 
"Philip Parfitt's songs on Mental Home Recordings possess both scars and genius. If Parfitt's previous work lurked within the sharp garage tradition of Bo Diddley, the Velvets and the Stones, he operates now within a quieter idiom: Nick Drake, Ronnie Lane, Syd Barrett. Quieter but not softer: this record will scrub you raw" – Matthew Specktor (The New York Times, GQ, Harper’s, The Paris Review, Fox 2000) 
"Imagine a Reed / Dylanesque vocal lacquered in a modern blend of elements of The Church, The Red House Painters and Slowdive... Now you don’t have to (imagine). Just listen... Heartfelt and folk-centered with Ride-esque uplifting interjections on the chorus, Parfitt has found an optimal balance between bard and rock star. We love it" – Big Takeover Magazine 
Philip Parfitt is best known as the founder, guitarist, vocalist and primary songwriter of the Britain's The Perfect Disaster. Formed in 1980, the alternative rock band released four albums and reached number fifteen on the UK Indie Chart before splitting up in 1991. 
Ahead of this, he presents the single 'All Fucked Up' featuring Bordeaux-based psychedelic folk-rock artist Alex Creepy Mojo. The accompanying video, starring actress Melissa Oxlade, is directed by filmmaker Luigi Dias - both also collaborated on the previous single 'Somebody Called Me In', shot on location in Liverpool and Melbourne, Australia. 
Parfitt played on Spectrum’s first album with Jason Pierce and guitarist Terry Bickers (House of Love, Levitation) contributed to Oedipussy's album 'Divan'. Parfitt also gave significant starts to Josephine Wiggs (who played in the Perfect Disaster before joining The Breeders) and to
the Heliocentrics’ Malcolm Catto, who likewise played on the Perfect Disaster’s first. 
It’s a surprise to realize that 'Mental Home Recordings' is only his second solo album, following his 'I'm Not The Man I Use To Be', released in 2014. 

Tracklist: 1) Somebody Called Me In 2) All Fucked Up 3) If I Wake Up 4) Don’t Wait (until I am dead before you tell me that you love me) 5) John Clare 6) I Saw There Beside Me 7) Bones Cold 8) My Love 9) Are We Really Still The Same 10) Of Nothing In Particular

More From This Artist: Philip Parfitt

Shipping calculated at checkout.