New website, returning customers please re-register

Forgot your password?

Create Account

1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Parham Ghalamdar - Beautiful Apparitions [Cassette]

Death Is Not The End

  • £12.60

Format: Cassette
Catalogue No.: DEATH064
Barcode: 5050580794474
Release Date: 11 Nov 2022
Genre: Folk / Field Recordings

01: The Magical Hand of the Night - Parham Ghalamdar
02: Believe Me, After You... - Parham Ghalamdar
03: My Beautiful Bird, Pt. 1 - Parham Ghalamdar
04: Greengrocer - Parham Ghalamdar
05: My Death Is Infamy for You - Parham Ghalamdar
06: You Can Reduce the Distances - Parham Ghalamdar
07: My Heart, I Mistakenly Gave You My Heart - Parham Ghalamdar
08: My Beautiful Bird, Pt. 2 - Parham Ghalamdar
09: Where Did the Spring Go? - Parham Ghalamdar
10: Six Days in the North and I Didn't Even Miss You - Parham Ghalamdar
11: I Returned Without You - Parham Ghalamdar
12: Winter is the Nude Garden - Parham Ghalamdar
13: My Beautiful Bird, Pt. 3 - Parham Ghalamdar

Tehran-born, Manchester-based artist Parham Ghalamdar provides a suite of raw & candid amateur-performed Persian folk, pop songs and poetry - all pulled from the audio on his parents archive of homemade VHS recordings documenting intimate, joyous & illicit gatherings in turn-of-the-century Iran.

"Beautiful Apparitions is a collection of audio excerpts from digitized VHS tapes recorded by my parents in early-noughties Iran. The footage depicts the secret double lives of Iranians drinking, dancing, and singing to celebrate life when owning a VHS player was illegal in the Islamic Republic. The footage is an amateur performance of pop and folklore songs about love, loss and life. Although many Iranians must have recorded such vivid moments, they are rarely made available publicly. Such tapes would usually have been well hidden, lost, or purposefully destroyed."

— Parham Ghalamdar

More From This Artist: Parham Ghalamdar

Shipping calculated at checkout.