1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

PAN - Pan The Pansexual [Standard Pink Vinyl]


  • £23.04

Format: LP – Standard Pink Vinyl
Catalogue No.: TRANS790X
Barcode: 5400863159511
Release Date: 12 Jul 2024
Genre: Rap

潘PAN is announcing her debut album ‘Pan the Pansexual’ on Transgressive, out July 12th. The announcement is pencilled in on Thursday 23rd of May with the first single ‘Imperfect Poetry’.

Though 潘PAN is an entirely new artist - new outlook, new message, new material and name - you may have met the woman herself before. Back in the mid-‘10s, the Taipei-born  rapper went by the moniker Aristophanes. After performing a career-changing feature on ‘SCREAM’, taken from Grimes’ celebrated NME Album of 2015 ‘Art Angels’, Aristophanes went on to build a cult fanbase, releasing her debut mixtape ‘Humans Become Machines’  two years later and then her distributor went bust during covid. Signed to Transgressive she re-released her mixtape followed by Reborn and Ghosts EPs earlier this year. 

Across a constantly morphing sound palette that moves from metallic, apocalyptic beats to delicate nods to the traditional music of her Asian heritage, via heavy, industrial moments, spacious soundscapes and much more, the thread is  Pan’s utterly mesmeric vocal. Performing in a mix of Mandarin and English, she explains that having the two languages to play with is “like featuring another artist who has a different way of describing things”.

Across the releases, confident sexual expression mixes with tenderness, empathy and a particularly feminine sort of strength to create a world that Pan hopes will transcend language and connect her audience via something more innate.  “The music is a place to feel safe,” she says. “The message that I want to carry through these two EPs and the album is to demonstrate the strength of accepting your own situations. When you can’t make things right but you’ve done your best, sometimes it’s  really hard to admit that to yourself. It takes strength to do that. I use lots of sexual metaphors, but I feel like it’s more about the female need to be seen and heard. I want to build something more delicate and layered and connected to our life experience  - to the trauma and the pleasure and the growth.”

In the time since she last stepped into the spotlight, the musician has experienced her fair share of all these things. Now, it’s as an entirely evolved artist that she returns with a new collection of music that revels in it all: the  trauma, the pleasure, the growth and the long-awaited rebirth of 潘PAN.

1 1 Pansexual
1 3 Imperfect Poetry
1 4 Look Into The Fire
2 1 Embers
2 2 Tearz
2 3 Reborn
2 4 Ghosts


More From This Artist: PAN

Shipping calculated at checkout.