1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

OST / The Primevals (2LP/ Ice Blue / Lilac)

Silva Screen

  • £35.98

Format: 2 x LP
Catalogue No.: SILLP1745
Barcode: 5014929000275
Release Date: 19 Jul 2024
Genre: Soundtrack

Original Soundtrack

First Ever Release

Ice Blue / Lilac Coloured Vinyl

The Primevals belongs to a different time, a different place, an imagined world of monsters, myth and magic that has only ever existed within the confines of classic fantasy cinema. Even if its chief architect, David Allen, had lived and the film had been released in the 1990s, it would have still been out of synch with the zeitgeist.

Fifty years ago, filmmaker David Allen registered the story for the film that would become The Primevals. His goal was to elevate the art of stop-motion animation into more serious, thoughtful storytelling. In the mid-1960s, the film had started as an homage to Edgar Rice Burroughs, reminiscent of the fantasy films by Ray Harryhausen that had impressed David as a child. He sadly died in 1999 and the task of completing the film fell to his visual effects colleague Chris Endicott.

Award winning and Emmy nominated composer Richard Band is primarily known as a composer for Horror and Genre films. He was recently awarded the MOSMA Film Music Festival’s “LIFE ACHIEVEMENT AWARD” and the subsequent two nights of concerts in Malaga, Spain included an encore in which The Primevals main title for full orchestra had its live premiere.

The music represents a glorious hark back to the classic scores that fuelled so many of the Harryhausen films of the 1950s and 1960s. A delirious thrill-ride through the joys of monsters, ray-guns, spaceships and good old-fashioned stop motion animation.

Track Listing

Side 1
1. The Gale and Mountain Shack / Battling the Yeti / Main Title
2. Dr. Collier"s Announcement
3. Unveiling the Yeti
4. Matt and Dr. Collier
5. They Talk / The Expedition
6. Rondo Agrees to The Expedition
7. Meeting Cathleen / Kiku

Side 2
1. Pushing On / Yeti Tracks
2. Awakened by a Yeti / Kiku
3. The Tower / Earthquake
4. The Cave / A New Land
5. Rafting Down the River
6. The Hominid Village
7. Matt Hears Villagers Screaming
8. The Hominid Confrontation
9. The Wrecked Village / Onwards
10. Entering the Caves
11. Huge Spaceship Discovery

Side 3
1. The Spaceship / Inside the Spaceship
2. The Abduction
3. In the Cages
4. Taken to "The Arena"
5. The Lizard Arena Show
6. The Yeti is Released

Side 4
1. Escaping the Cages / The Yeti Helps the Escape Part 1
2. The Yeti Helps the Escape Part 2 / Matt Has a Plan
3. Dr. Collier Dies & Finale
4. End Titles

More From This Artist: Richard Band

Shipping calculated at checkout.