1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind



  • £25.18

Format: LP
Catalogue No.: FARO243LP
Barcode: 5065007965504
Release Date: 15 Mar 2024
Genre: Jazz / Latin Music 

Meaning 'Hi' in Uruguayan slang, Opa are a South American jazz-funk phenomenon - Fusing Uruguay's native Candombe rhythms with North American jazz and pop music, Opa's space-age synthesizers, boisterous grooves and compositional magic expressed a distinctive Afro-Uruguayan voice within the global jazz vernacular: a voice which remains as vital and unique today as when it was recorded, almost half a century ago.

For fans of Azymuth, Weather Report, Cortex and The Headhunters.
Sampled by Captain Murphy (aka Flying Lotus)and Madlib.

Having migrated to New York from Montevideo in the early seventies, Opa were heard playing in a nightclub by renowned producer and label owner Larry Rosen. At Holly Place Studios between July and August 1975, Rosen oversaw Opa's frst recordings using a four track TEAC 3340. The album would become home to some of Opa's hardest hitting funk jams, with moments of songwriting wonderment and soulful pop and rock progressions combining with the jazz-funk fusion Opa would become known for.

Mysteriously (for reasons unknown to the band), Opa's debut was shelved and remained so until the mid-1990s. But the Back Home recordings were used as demos, gaining Opa a record deal with Milestone Records and the subsequent release of two cult- favourite albums: Goldenwings (1976) and Magic Time (1977).

Opa would also collaborate with North American titans including bassist Ron Carter, producer Creed Taylor and Brazilian icons Airto Moreira, Flora Purim, Hermeto Pascoal and Milton Nascimento. In more recent years Opa's music has found new audiences after being sampled by Captain Murphy (aka Flying Lotus) and Madlib.

1. Goldenwings
2. Brooklynville
3. Brother Rada
4. African Bird
5. One+One+One Is Two
6. Corre Nina
7. Casa Forte
8. Never Can Say Goodbye
9. Back Home (The Inner Cry)

More From This Artist: OPA

Shipping calculated at checkout.