New website, returning customers please re-register

Forgot your password?

Create Account

1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Okkyung Lee - Yeo-Neun

Shelter Press

  • £21.60
RELEASE DATE 23rd Oct 2020
Genres - Experimental, Electronic

Track Listing
A1. Here We Are (Once Again)
A2. The Yellow Porcelain Bird
A3. Another Old Story
A4. In Stardust (For Kang Kyung-ok)
A5. Eternally
B1. Uiro (Up & Up & Up)
B2. The Longest Morning
B3. One Bright Lazy Sunday Afternoon (You Whispered That Name)
B4. Facing Your Shadows
B5. Then, There

Listening to Lee Okkyung doing her thing - or rather things - is real a delight. The South Korean-born, New York-based composer and improviser lays claim to an impressive formal education courtesy of the highly respected Berklee College of Music in the US. Specialising in writing and scoring, you can envisage the narrative potential of each arrangement here, where the serene and beautiful - informed in part by classical tones of the Far East - frequently dissipate into the experimental, cacophonous or accidental. The result is an album that can be traditional when it chooses to be, clearly the product of a formally trained musician, and yet is also surprising and playful, and at times somewhat challenging. Cellos, harps and pianos sitting front and centre, with a range of effects, white and found noises adding fathoms of depth and possibility to the mix.

More From This Artist: Okkyung Lee

Shipping calculated at checkout.