1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Obongjayar - Some Nights I Dream of Doors [CD]

September Recordings

  • £14.38

Format: CD
Catalogue No.: SEPCD008
Barcode: 196626347206
Release Date: 13 May 2022
Genre: Soul

Ever since an early Obongjayar demo first surfaced on SoundCloud in 2016, it’s been clear that Steven Umoh, the man behind the moniker, possesses a completely unique talent. Known to his friends simply as ‘OB’, the Nigerian-born, London-based musician pens stirring and spiritual lyrics, while commanding a distinctive voice that flits between rap, song and spoken word. With afrobeats, soul and hip-hop influences, he has created a bold, genre-defiant musicality.
Despite rich successes over the last few years; OB has never felt ready to release an album, until now, and his debut full-length, ‘Some Nights I Dream of Doors’ represents a real levelling up for Obongjayar. Across twelve tracks, he deftly moves through diverse sounds and subcultures while navigating a wealth of personal and political topics. If his last EP, Which Way is Forward? posed a lot of questions as Obongjayar examined his identity and his place in the world, Some Nights I Dream of Doors is his coming of age moment. In OB’s exploration of everything from familial expectation to self-seeking politicians; there’s a boldness and a confidence to every track.

1. Try
2. Message in a Hammer
3. Parasite
4. Some Nights I Dream of Doors
5. Wrong For It
6. Sugar
7. My Life Can Change Today (Interlude)
8. New Man
9. All The Difference
10. Tinko Tinko (Don't Play Me For a Fool)
11. I Wish It Was Me
12. Wind Sailor

More From This Artist: Obongjayar

Shipping calculated at checkout.