New website, returning customers please re-register

Forgot your password?

Create Account

1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Nordvest - GrØndal

Suction Records

  • £16.72

RELEASE DATE 10th Jul 2020
Genres - Ambient/Drone

Track Listing
A1. Rooftops & Chaotic Streets Five
A2. Scribbles Nine
A3. Rooftops & Chaotic Streets Seven
A4. Rooftops & Chaotic Streets Eight
A5. Rooftops & Chaotic Streets Four
B1. Sleepless Six
B2. Sleepless One
B3. Scribbles Two
B4. Sleepless Two
B5. Rooftops & Chaotic Streets Six
B6. Scribbles Seven

Suction Records welcomes Roger Semsroth back to the label - having previously released 2 full-length albums with us under his retired electro-pop alias, Skanfrom. “Grøndal” (suction051) is the debut vinyl release under a new alias, Nordvest.

These days, Semsroth is best-known for his stark and minimalist techno project, Sleeparchive. The material on Grøndal - icy, melodic, and mostly beatless - is comprised of tracks that were originally released digitally as Sleeparchive, via Bandcamp. The releases were met with general disinterest from Sleeparchive fans, prompting Semsroth to re-brand them as Nordvest, before removing them from Bandcamp altogether.

We’ve chosen 11 highlights from 3 of those digital albums, “Rooftops & Chaotic Streets”, “Scribbles”, and “Sleepless”, for a cohesive 11-track LP of austere, synthetic ambience. Think Tangerine Dream as reinterpreted by Incunabula-era Autechre, and you might be getting somewhere close. While “Rooftops & Chaotic Streets Seven” recalls Sleeparchive, and “Sleepless Six” could very well be a lost Skanfrom track, the rest of the LP clearly warrants a new alias - Nordvest is a new side of Semsroth that we haven’t heard before.

More From This Artist: Nordvest

Shipping calculated at checkout.