New website, returning customers please re-register

Forgot your password?

Create Account

1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Noa Erni - The Mental Traveller

Kommerz Records

  • £17.19 ( )
Genre: Jazz / Neo-Jazz /Instrumental Hip Hop
Format: LP
Catalogue No.: KOM003 
EAN: 3663729138705
Release Date: 7th May 2021 (back in)

Debut Album from Noa Erni featuring legendary Count Bass D (worked with Madlib, Snoop Dogg, MF Doom (RIP) and more), Miles Bonny (Melting Pot Music) Shamir of WOLM (WOLM) and upcoming rapper/singer from Norfolk, Virginia: Nardo Says.

Far beyond the horizon of compiling single tracks, “The Mental Traveller” is a journey of sound and unity. Inspired by David Axelrod and William Blake, Ahmad Jamal and Flying Lotus – just to name a few – this work aims to be a tribute to these legends’ legacies of past, present and future, detached from trends, norms and classical narrative

Additional production by S. Fidelity (Jakarta Records) and Robot Orchestra (Chillhop Music, ear-sight)

The campaign will be accompanied by a short documentary series about the artist.
Filmed live performances of the album interpreted by hyped jazz band Triorität

* Special remarks : Inside out LP + Sticker

If music can take our mind to any imaginable place, on endless individual journeys, Noa Erni’s “The Mental Traveller” is the infinite soundtrack. A soundtrack for mental wandering and soul searching, a blend of rap, jazz and hip-hop beats. “The Mental Traveller”, an album assembled like a literary anthology, offers musical arrangements and unique narratives where epilogue and prologue of each track merge seamlessly.

Swiss-born producer and computer conductor Noa Erni has been crafting obscure jazz and hip-hop behind closed curtains (a.k.a. his flat in Berlin, Germany) for years – free from external pressure and as an adjunct to his day jobs as sommelier and co-owner of local fine wine store “Friedenauer Weinhandlung”. On April 30th, 2021, Kommerz Records will release Noa Erni’s debut album “The Mental Traveller” on 12” vinyl as well as on all digital platforms.

While the album sounds like it was played by a jazz outfit with years of stage experience, the truth surprises and is even more exciting: Noa crafted the songs in countless hours of experimenting with a midi keyboard, various instrument plugins and perfected reverb settings. It was not one and the same band but one and the same person. Just a few tracks include actual live instruments: drums by Max von der Goltz on “The Mental Traveller Theme” and “Uncertainty”, bass by Roman Klobe on “Longitude” and flugelhorn by Miles Bonny on “Train Ride”.

1 The Mental Traveller Takes Off 00:01:06
2 The Mental Traveller Theme (feat. Nardo Says) 00:05:05
3 Train Ride (feat. Miles Bonny) 00:03:21
4 Seeds Of Labor (feat. Shamir of WOLM) 00:03:14
5 Microsleep 00:03:09
6 Longitude (w/ S. Fidelity) 00:04:13
7 Calmility 00:02:41
8 Second Nature of the Beast (feat. Count Bass D) 00:01:54
9 Square (feat. Nardo Says) 00:02:07
10 Uncertainty 00:02:58
11 Shapes 00:02:33
12 Damn It's Sunny (feat. Robot Orchestra) 00:04:33
Shipping calculated at checkout.