New website, returning customers please re-register

Forgot your password?

Create Account

1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind



  • £19.78 ( )

CAT NO.: AMB1703
RELEASE DATE: 5th February 2021
BARCODE: 5055274707389
GENRE: Deep House, Reissue, Techno

A1 Morning
A2 Reve
A3 Souvenir
B1 Afternoon
B2 Pacific Jazz
C1 Evening
C2 Nite
D1 Ocean In Heaven
D2 Regard

• This is a seriously good compilation of three Mr YT EP’s from the 90’s
• Originally released on R&S offshoot labels
• The music has really stood the test of time - Original vinyl EP’s go for big money on discogs
• For fans of Susumu Yokota, Chez Damier, John Beltran, Carl Craig
• Re-mastered by Matt Colton
• PR by Tailored
• Double Vinyl

Apollo / R&S are proud to present a compilation album of a series of classic EPs of timeless vibes and lush percussive excursions from overlooked Japanese innovator Mr YT AKA Yuji Takenouchi.

The 'Brand New Day’, ‘Southern Paradise’ and ‘Parfum’ Eps were originally release between 1997 - 1998 on Apollo Records and R&S sub-labels Generations and Global Cuts.

Over the intervening years, the EPs' heady blend of atmospheric pressure, balmy pads and deep grooves has percolated, gathering fans across the globe, to the point where original copies are in high demand on the secondhand market.

Created in the late 90s on a hardware set up of Roland Super Jupiter, Roland JV1080, Roland D550, Yamaha TX81Z and Akai S1100, Takenouchi was burning with inspiration from the sounds of Ron Trent and Chez Damier, Basic Channel, House of 909, Ian Pooley and Carl Craig.

A video game musician by profession, Takenouchi was used to producing music for specific scenes / sequences - starting from scratch had him baffled. Deciding to set a theme or concept for each EP proved to be the breakthrough he needed, a day of new environment for 'Brand New Day’, yin and yang for 'Southern Paradise’ and imaginary fragrances for ‘Parfum'. Looking at pictures related to each of these themes helped to fuel his creativity while producing.

From the sun dappled balearic haze of opener ‘Morning’ to the blissed out bump of ‘Afternoon’, the gauzy euphoria of ‘Ocean In Heaven’ to the cosmic funk pulse of ‘Regard’, the music contained in the 'Brand New Day’ compilation remains as timely and relevant as the day it was released and should see Mr. YT appreciated alongside the likes of the US and European producers who first inspired him.

Shipping calculated at checkout.