1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Momma - Household Name [LP]

Lucky Number

  • £16.81
  • £21.58

Format: LP
Catalogue No.: LUCKY158LP
Barcode: 689492211318 
Release Date: 01 Jul 2022
Genre: Indie/Alternative

Momma, the band led by singers/guitarists Allegra Weingarten and Etta Friedman, will release their anticipated new album, Household Name, on July 1st, 2022.

Fresh off a series of dates with Wet Leg, the band’s new full-length Household Name reveals an exciting new chapter marked by both personal and artistic growth. Now based in Brooklyn, New York, after relocating from hometown Los Angeles, the duo upgraded from GarageBand and took their time writing and recording in a proper studio alongside multi-instrumentalist/producer Aron Kobayashi Ritch. The resulting album, mastered by Grammy-winning engineer Emily Lazar, is a tightly stitched collection that is magnetic and dynamic, and also marks their debut for Lucky Number, who signed Momma in the midst of the pandemic before the band members had even finished college. In chasing their idols and embracing personal storytelling, the band has skill-fully carved out their own path. Household Name showcases an unfettered vulnerability elevated by serious alt-rock bombast and is an album that tells the world: This is Momma.

Across the album’s 12 songs, Weingarten and Friedman, who met and formed Momma in high school, cull lyrical inspiration from their own lives for the first time –a contrast with the conceptual fiction of Two of Me. Bygone heroes also helped inspire a lyrical theme throughout Household Name: the rise and fall of the rock star, and the tropes and tribulations that come with that arc. The theme allowed the group to celebrate (and, in some cases, directly reference) icons like Nirvana, Pavement, Smashing Pumpkins, Veruca Salt, and the Breeders’ Kim Deal, while weaving in their own perspective and experiences. Household Name perfects a balance of heavy riffs, deep emotions, inviting sonic production, and a light-hearted, wry sense of humour, creating a singular lane for Momma in today's world of alt rock.

Featured in NME plus online coverage from Rolling Stone, MTV Bop Shop, NPR, DIY, Dork, Stereogum, Gigwise, Line of Best Fit, Riot Mag, The Rodeo, Rock Sound, Under the Radar, Monster Children, Brooklyn Vegan, FLOOD and more.

Forthcoming print features in DIY, Dork, Notion, The Rodeo, Total Guitar, Guitar World and others.

"Momma mix sludgy ‘90s guitars with the intoxicating feeling of young love" - The FADER
“Momma furnish a fresh take on era-defining alt-rock sounds with an ennuied yet free-spirited character” - The Line Of Best Fit
“Isn’t there something encouraging and hopeful about a group of young people making music that seems genuinely authentic?” - Consequence
“They’re well on the way to becoming the rockstars they dreamed of being.” DIY
“This is the sound of a band hungrily soaking up musical history and ensuring that they’ll soon create their own little part of it.” NME

1. Rip Off
2. Speeding 72
3. Medicine
4. Rockstar
5. Motorbike
6. Tall Home
7. Lucky
8. Brave
9. Callin’ Me
10. Spider
11. No Stage
12. No Bite

More From This Artist: Momma

Shipping calculated at checkout.