New website, returning customers please re-register

Forgot your password?

Create Account

1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Minus The Bear - Planet of Ice [2LP Magenta Vinyl]

Suicide Squeeze Records

  • £35.98 ( )

Format: 2LP - Magenta Vinyl 
Catalogue No.: SSQ065LPC4
Barcode: 0803238096018
Release Date: 23rd April 2021
Genre: Indie/Alternative

Very limited vinyl represses, download card included. Following the success of Highly Refined Pirates' forward-thinking guitar gymnastics and Menos el Oso's groundbreaking glitch rock, Seattle's premier pop revisionists Minus the Bear dug into some of rock music's most ostentatious years for inspiration for their 2007 album, Planet of Ice. The title alone conjures images of Yes's Relayer album art, and the influence of the elder statesmen's symphonic scope can be felt throughout Planet of Ice's lush and intricate arrangements. You can also hear the band channel the ominous instrumental interplay of Lamb-era Genesis on "Dr. L'Ling," the deceptively savvy musicianship and pristine production of Steely Dan on "White Mystery," and the tightrope walk between ethereal space and pre-metal riffage of Pink Floyd's "Echoes" on "Lotus." Not that Minus the Bear completely abandoned their earlier style elements of Menos el Oso's sample-driven technique can be heard on the lead single "Knights." But the heart of the song ultimately belongs to the haunting Fripp-esque guitar lines spliced between verses. Suicide Squeeze is proud to reintroduce Planet of Ice's creative marriage of classic motifs and modern musical wizardry with a vinyl remaster courtesy of Bernie Grundman.

Tracklist A1 Burying Luck A2 Ice Monster A3 Knights B1 White Mystery B2 Dr. L'ling B3 Part 2 C1 Throwin' Shapes C2 When We Escape C3 Double Vision Quest D1 Lotus

Shipping calculated at checkout.