New website, returning customers please re-register

Forgot your password?

Create Account

1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Melt Yourself Down - Melt Yourself Down + Live At The New Empowering Church

The Leaf Label

  • £12.58
Genre: Alternative/Jazz/World
Format: 2CD
Catalogue No.: BAY85CDX
B/C: 843190008582
Release Date: 16th October 2020

***Special edition double CD of Melt Yourself Down’s freewheeling debut album includes the explosive Live At The New Empowering Church***

Melt Yourself Down is the sound of Cairo ‘57, Cologne ‘72, New York ‘78, London 2013. North and south and east and west. Horns blowing, drums vibrating, a suffocating fever dream. Primal. Vital.

Hoodoo voodoo? They do, you do. They call it a debut. Fierce funk and punk and detonated jazz. Rhythms to rearrange the DNA. Five senses being ripped by six souls across seven continents on eight songs. Live, they’re a tropical storm lit by full-frontal fireworks, carried by a finger-pointing, proselytising equatorial preacherman spitting fire and brimstone calls that demand a response. Their message: Melt Yourself Down and turn yourself up. Get out of it and get into it.

-To mark the release of Melt Yourself Down’s latest album 100% Yes, we take it back to where it all began with their 2013 debut album.
-Paired with Live At The New Empowering Church, available on CD outside of North America for the first time.
-The group is the brainchild of Pete Wareham (Acoustic Ladyland, Polar Bear), who enlisted a stellar crew of musicians, including Kushal Gaya (Zun Zun Egui), Shabaka Hutchings (The Comet Is Coming, Sons Of Kemet, Shabaka And The Ancestors), Tom Skinner (Hello Skinny, Sons Of Kemet, Owiny Sigoma Band), Ruth Goller (Acoustic Ladyland, Rokia Traoré), and Satin Singh (Ill Considered, Fela!)The band built an incontrovertible live reputation in the UK, bringing mayhem to sold out crowds across the country.
-The album was a particular favourite with record stores, receiving Album of the Year accolades from Rough Trade and Amoeba and many others, as well as Time Out, eMusic, Google Play and more.
-The band’s blistering appearance on the BBC’s legendary ‘Later… With Jools Holland’ TV show set tongues wagging
-A primal, tribal stew of horns and drums and unhinged vocals, the singles ‘We Are Enough’, ‘Fix My Life’ and ‘Release!’ have been tearing up dancefloors and radio playlists since late 2012.
-Pitchfork premiered two trippy animated videos for ‘FML’ and ‘Release!’ putting the band in front of a considerable audience for the first time. youtube.com/meltyourselfdown.

Melt Yourself Down
1. Fix My Life
2. Release!
3. Tuna
4. We Are Enough
5. Kingdom Of Kush
6. Free Walk
7. Mouth To Mouth
8. Camel

Live at The New Empowering Church
1. We Are Enough
2. Tuna
3. Mouth To Mouth
4. Kingdom Of Kush
5. Camel
6. Fix My Life
7. Release!

On Melt Yourself Down:

“Someone contact the Mercury prize people: jazz just went bananas. The year’s best party band just jumped off a stage near you.”
The Guardian

“The collective’s strength lies in their snakelike energy: all coiled muscle, hypnotic sway and dangerous unpredictability”
4/5 The Daily Telegraph

“Melt Yourself Down’s debut is direct and infectious, jostling with harmonic and rhythmic allusions to Nubia, the Middle East, Latin America.”

“Melt Yourself Down is a vivacious, phantasmagorical melting pot, easily the most viscerally exciting album I’ve heard so far this year. That it manages to meld its mayhem to indelibly memorable tunes is both brilliant and outrageous. You probably owe it to yourself to buy this record.”
The Quietus

More From This Artist: Melt Yourself Down

Shipping calculated at checkout.