New website, returning customers please re-register

Forgot your password?

Create Account

1 item added to Basket:
Onemind Presents Onemind

Madness - The Liberty of Norton Folgate [180g 2LP Black Vinyl]

Union Square

  • £32.30

Format: 2 x LP, Black Vinyl
ICPN: 4050538618846
Release Date: 24 Feb 2023
Genre: Indie/Alternative

The Liberty of Norton Folgate is the ninth studio album from Madness and widely considered to be their magnum opus. Originally released in May 2009, and taking nearly three years to make, the record was the first with the full band since 1999’s Wonderful and was developed as a concept album about the band’s home town. The ten minute long title track tells the history of a part of East London (Norton Folgate, near Spitalfields) which, for a period, remained free from the Crown’s ruling and was therefore referred to as a ‘liberty’, where normal rules of city life did not apply. The album finds the band in full creative flow, with song after song (including the tracks that didn’t make it onto the standard CD or LP release) showcasing the maturity and depth of their songwriting prowess. Includes the singles ‘NW5’, ‘Dust Devil’ ‘Forever Young’ and ‘Sugar and Spice’ and this extended 2LP version features seven bonus tracks. Available on heavyweight vinyl in gatefold packaging, and featuring exclusive new liner notes containing interviews with Suggs, Lee Thompson, Chrissyboy Foreman, Daniel Woodgate and Mike Barson, as well as an exclusive poem by Cathal Smyth.

LP 1 - Side 1
1 Overture
2 We Are London
3 Sugar and Spice
4 Forever Young
5 Dust Devil
6 Rainbows

Side 2
1 That Close
3 On the Town
4 Bingo
5 Idiot Child

LP 2 - Side 1
1 Africa
2 NW5
3 Clerkenwell Polka
4 The Liberty of Norton Folgate

Side 2 – Bonus Tracks
1 Let's Go
2 Mission from Hell
3 Seven Dials
4 Hunchback of Torriano
5 Fish & Chips
6 One Fine Day
7 The Kiss

More From This Artist: Madness

Shipping calculated at checkout.